New Zealand 36-22 Wales

Israel Dagg scores New Zealand's first try
Israel Dagg opened the scoring for New Zealand
New Zealand (10) 36
Tries: Dagg, B Smith, Barrett, Naholo, Savea Pen: Cruden Cons: Cruden, Barrett (3)
Wales (10) 22
Tries: Jones, Williams, Davies Pen: Biggar Cons: Biggar (2)

New Zealand produced another dominant second-half performance to crush battling Wales in Wellington.

Alun Wyn Jones' 38th-minute try tied the scores 10-10 at the interval.

But, inspired by replacement fly-half Beauden Barrett, the All Blacks scored four tries after the break - Ben Smith, Barrett, Waiseke Naholo and Ardie Savea crossing.

Liam Williams and Jonathan Davies scored in a late flurry, but Wales have now not beaten the Kiwis in 28 games.

Barrett was on the field after Aaron Cruden was taken off during the first half with a serious-looking neck injury.

Hospital tests later confirmed the Chiefs fly-half had not suffered a fracture.

The win seals a series victory for New Zealand with one game remaining, in Dunedin on Saturday, 25 June.

After their 39-21 loss in the first Test, Wales' management had warned their players they needed an 80-minute performance against the world champions.

Alun Wyn Jones scores for Wales
Alun Wyn Jones crossed for Wales' opening try in Wellington

But again the tourists could not live with the All Blacks in a crucial 14-minute period after the break, in which they scored four tries.

Things might have been different had Taulupe Faletau held on to a pass from Sam Warburton with the scores tied.

The pass went to ground and within a minute Smith had crossed for New Zealand's second try as the hosts pulled clear.

Another positive start

Wales gave as good as they got in the first half, dominating possession in the early phases, but having only Dan Biggar's 15th-minute penalty to show for it.

The All Blacks made no mistake on their first visit to the Welsh 22, Aaron Smith brilliantly exploiting a narrow defence with Israel Dagg dummying his way over to mark his 50th cap with a try.

Welsh players show respect as Aaron Cruden is taken off
New Zealand fly-half Aaron Cruden was taken off on a stretcher

The long break for Cruden's injury disrupted the momentum, before Wales struck on the stroke of half-time.

Jonathan Davies brushed past Barrett to set up the attack and then sent a long pass to Jones loitering on the left-hand touchline. He scored his ninth Test try in his 101st Wales game and Biggar converted to level the scores.

Change of pace

Wales held their own before Barrett turned on the style.

He created a try for Smith and then scored between the posts. Naholo's third try in two Tests meant New Zealand had scored 19 points in eight minutes to take the game away from Wales.

All Blacks tweet
New Zealand Rugby Union tweet about Aaron Cruden's condition

Savea's try made it 36-10 and, with 14 minutes to play, Wales looked destined for a heavy defeat.

But Williams capped a fine display by running in from halfway before Davies rounded off a move from Jamie Roberts' interception with a thunderous hand-off and an assist by Rhys Priestland.

New Zealand v Wales: Warburton rues tourists' mistakes

What they said:

New Zealand coach Steve Hansen: "There was a lot more clarity about what we were trying to do.

"There were big improvements across the board, our line-out was much better and the scrum as well.

"You'd still expect a lot of improvement [for the third Test]."

Wales coach Warren Gatland: "I'm pretty proud of that performance. There were two or three key moments in the game and that's the difference.

"We had 58% territory and possession and that's a massive number for us against the All Blacks. We've never done that before."

How they lined-up

New Zealand team: Israel Dagg; Ben Smith, Malakai Fekitoa, Ryan Crotty, Waisake Naholo; Aaron Cruden, Aaron Smith; Joe Moody, Dane Coles, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Sam Cane, Kieran Read (capt).

Replacements: Nathan Harris (for Coles); Wyatt Crockett (for Moody), Charlie Faumuina (for Franks), Patrick Tuipulotu (for Retallick), Ardie Savea (for Cane), TJ Perenara (for A Smith), Beauden Barrett (for Cruden), Seta Tamanivalu (for Fekitoa).

Wales: Rhys Patchell; Liam Williams, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, Hallam Amos; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb, Gethin Jenkins; Ken Owens, Samson Lee, Luke Charteris, Alun Wyn Jones, Ross Moriarty, Sam Warburton (capt), Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (for Owens), Rob Evans (for Jenkins), Tomas Francis (for Lee), Bradley Davies (for Charteris), Ellis Jenkins (for Warburton), Gareth Davies (for Webb), Rhys Priestland (for Biggar), Scott Williams (for Roberts).

Referee: Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)

Assistant Referees: Jerome Garces (France), Wayne Barnes (England)

TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)