Australia v England: George Ford & Jack Nowell return

By Chris JonesBBC Radio 5 live rugby reporter in Melbourne
George Ford
George Ford helped England beat the Wallabies for only the fourth time in Australia last Saturday
Australia v England - Second Test
Date: Saturday 18 June Time: 11:00 BST Venue: AAMI Park, Melbourne
Coverage: Live radio and text commentary on BBC Radio 5 live and the BBC Sport website

George Ford and Jack Nowell return to the England starting XV for Saturday's second Test against Australia in Melbourne.

Bath fly-half Ford was a replacement for Luther Burrell in England's 39-28 win in the first Test, while Nowell replaces Marland Yarde.

Ford starts at number 10, with Owen Farrell moving to inside-centre and Burrell dropping out.

"We've picked a 23 to get the job done," England coach Eddie Jones said.

Jones has opted for a 6-2 split on the bench, with Jamie George, Jack Clifford and Elliot Daly named among the replacements.

"We weren't satisfied with last weekend's performance and we know there's lots to improve on," he said.

"We know the job isn't done. We came here to win a Test series and that's what we intend to do."

England captain Dylan Hartley said that the squad is buoyant after achieving only England's fourth Test win in Australia, but must build on it if they are to clinch the three-Test series.

He said: "That win means nothing unless we back it up this week. We enjoyed making history, but the bigger picture is this week and all our energies have gone into this.

"We have had the best week's preparation and we're desperate for this game."

England team to face Australia in second Test

Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs, Mako Vunipola, Dylan Hartley, Dan Cole, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Chris Robshaw, James Haskell, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Jamie George, Matt Mullan, Paul Hill, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Danny Care, Elliot Daly

Australia team

Israel Folau; Dane Haylett-Petty, Tevita Kuridrani, Samu Kerevi, Rob Horne; Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; James Slipper, Stephen Moore (capt), Sekope Kepu, Rory Arnold, Sam Carter, Scott Fardy, Michael Hooper, Sean McMahon.

Replacements (three to be omitted): Tatafu Polota-Nau, Toby Smith, Greg Holmes, James Horwill, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Ben McCalman, Liam Gill, Nick Frisby, Christian Leali'ifano, Luke Morahan

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC