Ireland v Barbarians: Chris Henry to return after mini-stroke

Chris Henry in action against France in this year's Six Nations Championship
Chris Henry had heart surgery last November and was out of action for five months
Ireland v Barbarians
Venue: Thomond Park, Limerick Date: Thursday, 28 May Kick-off: 19:45 BST
Coverage: Match report on BBC Sport website

Chris Henry will make his first Ireland appearance since suffering a mini-stroke in November when he faces the Barbarians in Limerick on Thursday.

Ulster back row Henry, 30, will start the non-cap game at Thomond Park, as will uncapped Leinster pair Colm O'Shea and Tadhg Furlong.

O'Shea, 24, will partner Ulster's Luke Marshall at centre, with Furlong named in the front row.

With Munster players unavailable, Jamie Heaslip will captain the side.

Regular skipper Paul O'Connell and Munster's other Ireland players will miss the game as they prepare for Saturday's Pro12 final against Glasgow.

Heaslip will be joined in the back row by Henry and another Ulster player, Robbie Diack.

Henry, capped 16 times, had surgery to repair a defect in his heart wall in November after being taken ill on the morning of Ireland's autumn international against South Africa.

Chris Henry factfile
1984: Born 17 October, Belfast
2003: Ulster Schools and Irish Schools captain
2004: Played for Ireland in U20 World Cup
2008: Ulster senior debut
2010: Ireland Wolfhounds skipper, first Ireland cap and Ulster player of year
2012: Helps Ulster reach Heineken Cup final
2014: In Ireland's Six Nations winning team but has mini-stroke later in year
2015: Returns to Ulster duty after four months out

He was out for nearly five months but returned to play for Ulster in late March.

Dave Kearney will make his first Ireland appearance since last year's Six Nations win over France in a backline that also includes his brother Rob.

Ulster wing Craig Gilroy is also named in the backs, with Leinster duo Ian Madigan and Eoin Reddan handed the half-back roles.

Rob Kearney, Devin Toner and Heaslip are the only members of the team who started the Six Nations-clinching win over Scotland two months ago, with Leinster prop Mike Ross on the bench.

Toner will be partnered in the second row by Ulster lock Dan Tuohy.

The bench includes uncapped Leinster trio Ben Marshall, Cian Kelleher and Luke McGrath, and Ulster's Paddy Jackson.

Ireland: Rob Kearney (Leinster); Dave Kearney (Leinster), Colm O'Shea (Leinster), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster); Ian Madigan (Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Leinster); Jack McGrath (Leinster), Richardt Strauss (Leinster), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster); Dan Tuohy (Ulster), Devin Toner (Leinster); Robbie Diack (Ulster), Chris Henry (Ulster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: Rob Herring (Ulster), Michael Bent (Leinster), Mike Ross (Leinster), Ben Marshall (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Luke McGrath (Leinster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Cian Kelleher (Leinster).