Wales to face New Zealand, South Africa and Australia in 2014

Wales' Toby Faletau in action against Australia

Wales will face southern hemisphere giants New Zealand, South Africa and Australia next autumn.

The International Rugby Board's top three ranked sides will visit Cardiff along with Fiji in 2014.

Australia and South Africa defeated Wales during the recent autumn series.

"If you want to be the best, you have to play the best and the 2014 autumn schedule reconfirms that commitment," said WRU Group chief executive Roger Lewis.

The matches against New Zealand, Australia and Fiji will be part of the IRB autumn window with South Africa confirmed as the fourth game of the series.

Wales 26-30 Australia: Wallabies triumph in Cardiff thriller

New Zealand beat Wales 33-10 at the Millennium Stadium in 2012 while Fiji's last visit to Cardiff in 2010 ended in a 16-16 draw,

All four games at the Millennium Stadium, which will be live on the BBC, are subject to final IRB approval and dates and kick off times will be confirmed at a later date.

Welsh Rugby Union chief Lewis said the 2014 autumn series would be the ideal preparation for Warren Gatland's side ahead of the 2015 Rugby World Cup.

"We will only have 12 matches in total in the run-up to our opening game at the tournament, so we must secure every opportunity to test ourselves at the highest level," Lewis added.