Treviso 26-26 Cardiff Blues

Gareth Davies

Gareth Davies' late penalty earned Cardiff Blues a Pro12 draw in Treviso, where the home side recovered from a 20-9 deficit.

Mat Berquist's early penalty put the hosts ahead and Chris Czekaj responded with a try, Davies converting.

Davies' exchanged two penalties with Berquist before Blues' Robin Copeland went over.

Alessandro Zanni and Edoardo Gori replied for Treviso, but Davies' kicking duel with Berquist ended level.

Even the scoring details were equal with two tries, two conversions and four penalties apiece - and each side had a player sin-binned.

Blues boss Phil Davies made six change from the side that lost in the previous round against Munster.

But Treviso had their international contingent available while the Blues were without Wales squad men Gethin Jenkins, Sam Warburton, Alex Cuthbert, Owen Williams and Leigh Halfpenny.

Injured Wales caps Bradley Davies and Cory Allen were also absent.

But despite those absences, the Blues built a first-half lead after Berquist's opener.

Czekaj's try was followed by Davies' conversion and two penalties each for the Blues 10 and his opposite number.

Number eight Copeland interrupted the kicking duel with his try and Davies converted to establish a 20-9 half-time lead.

But tries from flanker Zanni and replacement Gori to which Berquist added both conversions put the visitors ahead.

Davies brought the Blues level once and after Berquist completed the home side's scoring, Davies levelled for the final time.


Treviso: Brendan Williams; Ludovico Nitoglia, Michele Campagnaro, Christian Loamanu, Angelo Esposito; Mat Berquist, Tobias Botes; Alberto De Marchi, Leonardo Ghiraldini (capt), Lorenzo Cittadini, Marco Fuser, Corniel Van Zyl, Alessandro Zanni, Dean Budd, Manoa Vosawai.

Replacements: Enrico Ceccato, Michele Rizzo, Ignacio Fernandez-Rouyet, Robert Barbieri, Marco Filippucci, Alberto Sgarbi, Edoardo Gori, James Ambrosini.

Cardiff Blues: Dan Fish; Owen Jenkins, Richard Smith, Dafydd Hewitt, Chris Czekaj; Gareth Davies, Lewis Jones; Sam Hobbs (capt), Rhys Williams, Taufa'ao Filise, James Down, Filo Paulo, Macauley Cook, Ellis Jenkins, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Marc Breeze, Thomas Davies, Benoit Bourrust, Rory Watts-Jones, Luke Hamilton, Thomas Young, Tomos Williams, Simon Humberstone.

Referee: Leo Colgan (IRFU)

Assistant Referees: Claudio Blessano, Simone Boaretto (both FIR)

Citing Commissioner: Maurizio Vancini (FIR)

TMO: Alan Falzone (FIR)

Top Stories