RFU Championship: Season begins with double-headers

Guy Thompson scores a try

The new English Championship rugby season will kick off with three double-headers to be held on neutral grounds.

The season launch sees Exeter's Sandy Park hosting games between Jersey and Plymouth Albion, followed by the Cornish Pirates and Bristol.

Saracens' Allianz Arena sees London Welsh resume life in the Championship against Bedford and newly-promoted Ealing face London Scottish.

Moseley meet Rotherham and Nottingham face Leeds at Doncaster's Castle Park.

With the introduction of double-headers, this season's format has been extended by one round of fixtures to 23.

Top Stories