New Zealand All Blacks thrash France to secure series

Israel Dagg in action for New Zealand against France

Tries from Julian Savea, Ben Smith and Beauden Barrett helped New Zealand beat France in the second Test to win their three-match series with a game left.

Fly-half Aaron Cruden added 15 points with the boot as the All Blacks ran out 30-0 winners in Christchurch.

They won the first match 23-13 in Auckland last week and the final encounter is in New Plymouth next week.

All Blacks captain Kieran Read said: "We're extremely happy. When we got opportunities we really made them pay."

His side got on the board when Ma'a Nonu's deft kick behind the French defence allowed Savea to record his 13th Test try.

France fly-half Frederic Michalak had two opportunities to respond but failed with a drop-goal and missed a penalty soon after.

New Zealand went into the break 10-0 up but found themselves desperately defending their line at the start of the second half.

After some 20 phases, the French swung the ball back to Michalak for a drop-goal, only for Sam Cane to charge the ball down.

The All Blacks were quickly on the front foot, with Savea switching wings to draw the last defender and put Smith away.

Cruden kicked the conversion and two further penalties before replacement Barrett finished a length-of-the-field try after some outstanding work from Israel Dagg, Rene Ranger and Conrad Smith.

New Zealand: Israel Dagg; Ben Smith (Beauden Barrett), Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Julian Savea (Rene Ranger 59); Aaron Cruden, Aaron Smith (Piri Weepu 59); Kieran Read (captain), Sam Cane, Liam Messam (Victor Vito 62); Sam Whitelock (Jeremy Thrush 69), Luke Romano; Owen Franks (Ben Franks 69), Dane Coles (Andrew Hore 59), Wyatt Crockett (Tony Woodcock 62)

France: Maxime Medard (Brice Dulin 41); Adrien Plante, Florian Fritz (Mathieu Bastareaud 60), Wesley Fofana, Yoann Huget; Frederic Michalak, Maxime Machenaud (Remi Tales 65); Bernard Le Roux, Louis Picamoles (Yannick Nyanga 54), Thierry Dusautoir (capt); Yoann Maestri, Christophe Samson (Sebastien Vahaamahina 65); Nicolas Mas (Luc Ducalcon 67), Dimitri Szarzewski (Benjamin Kayser 50), Thomas Domingo (Vincent Debaty 67)

Top Stories