Treviso 14-35 Munster

Munster's Danny Barnes
Danny Barnes runs in Munster's first try in Saturday's game in Italy

Treviso (7) 14

Semenzato, van Zyl
de Waal 2

Munster (24) 35

Barnes, Zebo 2, Murphy
O'Gara 3
O'Gara 3

Munster maintained their challenge for a place in the Pro12 play-offs as they eased to a bonus-point win over Treviso in Italy.

First-half tries from Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo and Johne Murphy helped Munster lead 24-0 after 25 minutes.

Fabio Semenzato scored a Treviso try before the break and a Willem De Waal touchdown cut Munster's lead to 24-12.

However, Ronan O'Gara brought his tally up to 15 with two more penalties before Zebo's late bonus-point clinching try.

After suffering a shock 19-18 defeat in this fixture last year Munster quickly ensured there would be no repeat with a dominant opening half-hour.

The Irish side effectively broke open the game with two tries in the first 10 minutes.

Barnes was first over the whitewash in the third minute when he charged down a kick before collecting to score.

The New Zealand-born centre was involved again in his side's second try five minutes later, running onto a clever kick from Zebo before perfectly timing his pass to send the young wing over.

O'Gara then landed a penalty on 18 minutes before chipping through for Murphy to score a third and put the champions out of sight at 24-0 ahead.

Treviso opened their account with Fabio Semenzato squeezing over before Willem De Waal converted after Mick O'Driscoll had been yellow carded.

The Irish side were then down to 13 men shortly after the break when Zebo was also sent to the sin-bin and soon after Cornelius van Zyl touched down to help make it 24-12.

But Munster steadied on the back of two O'Gara penalties before Zebo got his second in the dying stages to secure a bonus point.

Benetton Treviso: Nitoglia, Iannone, Galon, Sgarbi, Williams, de Waal, Semenzato, Muccignat, Sbaraglini, Di Santo, A Pavanello, van Zyl, Derbyshire, Vermaak, Filippucci.

Replacements: Garcia for Galon 55 mins, Allori for Muccignat 70, Ceccato for Sbaraglini 51, Rouyet for Di Santo 51, Bernabo for Derbyshire 41, Padro for Vermaak 32.

Not Used: Gori, Di Bernardo.

Munster: D Hurley, Murphy, Barnes, Mafi, Zebo, O'Gara, O'Leary, du Preez, Varley, Botha, D Ryan, O'Driscoll, D O'Callaghan, O'Mahony, Coughlan.

Replacements: Jones for Murphy 59, Deasy for O'Gara 74, Horan for du Preez 59, Fogarty for Varley 74, Archer for Botha 70, Holland for O'Driscoll 70, O'Donnell for D. O'Callaghan 66.

Not Used: Williams.

Referee: N Hennessey (WRU)