Rabo Direct Pro12: Munster 29-11 Treviso

Franco Sbaraglini and Tobias Botes of Treviso combine in an attempt to stop Munster's Paul O'Connell
Franco Sbaraglini and Tobias Botes of Treviso combine in an attempt to stop Munster's Paul O'Connell

Munster moved up to third in the Pro12 thanks to a bonus-point win over Treviso at Thomond Park on Saturday.

After trailing to a Kris Burton penalty, openside flanker Niall Ronan charged over for the only try of the first half in the 24th minute.

Centre Keith Earls skipped through for his first league try of the season and Manoa Vosawai got Treviso's touchdown.

Number eight James Coughlan just about made the line for Munster's third try and Simon Zebo secured the extra point.

Treviso, who had already won in Ulster and Connacht this season, made a strong start with Burton kicking the opening points for the Italians.

Ronan O'Gara drew Munster level with a 19th-minute penalty and the province got their first try as Ronan raced onto Lifeimi Mafi's inviting offload and showed a clean pair of heels to the Treviso defence.

O'Gara converted but then missed a difficult penalty attempt from the left.

A crisply-struck penalty from Burton then punished Donncha O'Callaghan for going offside, leaving Franco Smith's men just four points in arrears at half-time.

In the 50th minute, lovely footwork from Earls saw him burst away from Burton and go in under the posts for a try that helped settle Tony McGahan's side, with O'Gara converting.

There were no signs of the Treviso caving in, though, and a well-worked line-out set up by captain Antonio Pavanello led to big Fijian Vosawai being driven over from a few metres out.

Munster hit back and soon after television match official Seamus Flannery had ruled that Conor Murray's attempted try had been held up, Coughlan's drive over from close range was confirmed by video review.

The visitors' defence was breached once more when a good carry from Coughlan and neat passing from Ian Keatley set up Zebo's try in the corner.

Then frustration got the better of Treviso replacement Simon Picone who received a red card in the final seconds.

Munster: D Hurley, Murphy, Earls, Mafi, Zebo, O'Gara, Murray, du Preez, Varley, Botha, D Ryan, O'Connell, O'Mahony, Ronan, Coughlan.

Replacements: Barnes for Murphy (62), Keatley for O'Gara (76), O'Leary for Murray (62), Horan for du Preez (62), Fogarty for Varley (66), Archer for Botha (66), B Holland for O'Connell (75), D O'Callaghan for Ronan (33).

Treviso: McLean, Nitoglia, Benvenuti, Sgarbi, Williams, Burton, Botes, Rizzo, Sbaraglini, Cittadini, A Pavanello, van Zyl, Padro, Zanni, Vosawai.

Replacements: Di Bernardo for Nitoglia (73), Vidal for Sbaraglini (64), Rouyet for Cittadini (64), Bernabo for A Pavanello (64), E Pavanello for van Zyl (70), Picone for Vosawai (70).

Not used: Muccignat, Gori.

Att: 8,000

Ref: Nigel Owens (Wales).

Top Stories