South Africa recall stars for Tri-Nations double header

Bryan Habana
Habana was absent as the Springboks lost to Australia and New Zealand

World Cup winners Bryan Habana, Fourie du Preez and Francois Steyn are among 15 players recalled to South Africa's Tri-Nations squad.

The Springboks were without 20 star men through injury as they lost away to Australia and New Zealand last month.

"We still have a number of injury concerns but the majority are now available," said coach Peter De Villiers.

South Africa play Australia on 13 August and the All Blacks a week later.

South Africa squad: Gio Aplon, Bryan Habana, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers, Francois Steyn, JP Pietersen, Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Morne Steyn, Butch James, Ruan Pienaar, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Pierre Spies, Gurthro Steenkamp, John Smit (captain), Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis, Jean Deysel, Gerhard Moster, CJ van der Linde.

Top Stories