Martyn Williams and Iestyn Thomas to face Wales

Martyn Williams (left) training with the Barbarians squad to face Wales
Martyn Williams (left) training with the Barbarians squad to face Wales

Welshmen Martyn Williams and Iestyn Thomas have been selected in the Barbarians side to face Wales in Cardiff on Saturday.

The Baa-Baas side shows 11 changes to the starting line-up that beat England 32-38 on Saturday at Twickenham.

Italy number eight Sergio Parisse remains as captain, while uncapped Cardiff Blues scrum-half Lloyd Williams is among the replacements.

Wales have named Gavin Henson in their side for the first time since 2009.

The home side are awarding caps for the match, which has been arranged to celebrate the 130th anniversary of the Welsh Rugby Union.

Willie Mason is on the Baa-Baas bench for the second week running as the recent convert from rugby league begins to get to grips with the union game.

The Toulon-bound Aussie made his union debut with a 15-minute cameo as a replacement at Twickenham last weekend.

Fresh from helping Munster to the Magners League title, New Zealand's record try-scorer Doug Howlett will be on the wing in a back-line brimming with attacking flair.

"It's a great privilege to get invited to play for the Barbarians and I can't wait to link up with the squad and to face Wales again," said Howlett.

"It's a huge thrill to be playing with the calibre of guys in the squad and a great chance for me to return to such a great place as the Millennium Stadium.

"I played for the Baa Baas a couple of years ago when we beat England and I have fond memories of that team and again they have put together a class squad of players together for this year."

Barbarians: Isa Nacewa (Leinster and Fiji); Paul Sackey (Toulon and England), Seru Rabeni (La Rochelle and Fiji), Mathieu Bastareaud (Stade Francais Paris and France), Doug Howlett (Munster and New Zealand); Brock James (Clermont Auvergne), Sebastien Tillous-Borde (Castres Olympique and France); Iestyn Thomas (Scarlets and Wales), Sebastien Bruno (Toulon and France), Carl Hayman (Toulon and New Zealand), Iosefa Tekori (Castres Olympique and Samoa), Paul Tito (Cardiff Blues), Joe van Niekerk (Toulon and South Africa), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues and Wales), Sergio Parisse (captain, Stade Francais Paris and Italy).

Replacements: Leonardo Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso and Italy), Davit Kubriashvili (Toulon and Georgia), Erik Lund (Biarritz Olympique and Norway), George Smith (Toulon and Australia), Lloyd Williams (Cardiff Blues), Willie Mason (Toulon), Benoit Baby (Clermont Auvergne and France).

Top Stories