State of Origin: New South Wales beat Queensland to win back-to-back series

James Tedesco goes into score for New South Wales
James Tedesco - the gamebreaker - got a try to put New South Wales on the way to victory
Holden State of Origin
New South Wales (8) 26
Tries: Vaughan, Tedesco 2, Cook Goals: Maloney 5
Queensland (8) 20
Tries: Kaufusi, McGuire, Papalii Goals: Lowe 4

New South Wales claimed back-to-back State of Origin series wins for the first time since 2005 after a last-minute winning try against Queensland.

James Tedesco finished off a brilliant Blake Ferguson break with just seconds to play to break Queensland hearts.

The Maroons, who won the past seven series deciders, drew level with two minutes to go after trailing 20-8.

However, Tedesco's second try of the night in the final play was decisive as New South Wales sealed the series 2-1.

The Roosters full-back was named man of the series after impressive displays across the three games.

After a new-look Queensland shocked the Blues at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane in game one, a superb performance in Perth set up a Sydney decider for the state rivals.

Blues were short-priced favourites, even with a changed halves pairing that saw Mitchell Pearce - never previously a series winner - brought back to partner Jimmy Maloney.

Kevin Walters' Maroons also had a tweaked line-up, with stand-off Corey Norman one of three debutants alongside Christian Welch and Ethan Lowe, while Cameron Munster switched to full-back as the spine was reshuffled.

It was Norman who created the opening score for Felise Kaufusi with a threaded grubber in a dominant opening 40.

However, a timely try by Paul Vaughan after of a series of penalties in a stop-start first period, punctuated regularly by the referee's whistle, brought the Blues level before the hooter.

The scoreline seemed to lift New South Wales, who ran harder, hit harder and started to make their mark after the break, firstly when Tedesco accelerated into the line and burst his way through after a fine move.

When Damien Cook then sliced through following a quick play-the-ball to score, it looked as though it was game over.

But the Maroons fought back, with Josh McGuire crashing over following yet another penalty and Josh Papalii scoring after Ethan Lowe's charge-down took the home fans' breath away.

Lowe stepped up to add the kick, but a moment of magic by Blues winger Ferguson led to Tedesco's try and brought home the prize.

New South Wales: Tedesco; Ferguson, T. Trbojevic, Wighton, Addo-Carr; Maloney, Pearce; Saifiti, Cook, Klemmer, Cordner, Frizell, J. Trbojevic.

Interchanges: Vaughan, Finucane, Murray, Graham

Queensland: Munster; Oates, Chambers, Mbye, Gagai; Norman, Cherry-Evans; Ofahengaue, Hunt, Papalii, Kaufusi, Lowe, McGuire

Interchanges: Morgan, Welch, Glasby, Fifita

Referees: Gerard Sutton and Ashley Klein

Top Stories