England: Wayne Bennett's men to open 2021 Rugby League World Cup

Australia celebrate winning the World Cup
Australia won their 11th World Cup in 2017 defeating England 6-0 in the final.

Hosts England will open the 2021 Rugby League World Cup after being seeded alongside holders Australia, New Zealand and Tonga.

Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Fiji and Lebanon are in pot two after reaching the last eight of the 2017 tournament.

Ireland and Scotland will aim to join France and Wales in the final two pots by qualifying in 2019.

The tournament, which will take place between 23 October and 27 November 2021, will feature 16 teams.

The top two from each of four groups will progress to the quarter-finals.

Wayne Bennett's side reached the final in the 2017 tournament, where they lost to 11-time champions Australia.

USA, Chile, Jamaica and Canada will compete for a place in England at the Americas Championship in Jacksonville on Tuesday.

Details of the 2021 tournament and its women's equivalent, which starts on men's quarter-final weekend, were released after a four-day congress of the Rugby League International Federation in York.


Join the conversation

These comments are now closed.


Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC