Four Nations 2016: Jason Taumalolo and Shaun Johnson in New Zealand squad

Jason Taumalolo
Jason Taumalolo was named Players' Choice Player of the Year

Joint-Dally M winner Jason Taumalolo, playmaker Shaun Johnson and prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves are in New Zealand's 2016 Four Nations squad.

All three players were ruled out of the side that lost 2-1 to England in a series last year with various injuries.

Back-rower Taumalolo, 23, shared the Dally M with Melbourne's Cooper Cronk, who is in the Australia squad.

New Zealand Warriors half-back Johnson, 26, scored the try that beat England in the 2013 World Cup semi-final.

Sydney Roosters front-rower Waerea-Hargreaves, 27, is joined in the squad by team-mate Shaun Kenny-Dowall.

There are several notable absentees, including full-back Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and half-back Kieran Foran, who recently linked up with former New Zealand coach Stephen Kearney at New Zealand Warriors after an unsuccessful spell at Parramatta.

The Kiwis have a new head coach for the Four Nations following Kearney's decision to take up the Warriors post in the National Rugby League.

Former Warrington back-rower David Kidwell was appointed as his successor, with Willie Poching - formerly of Hull KR, Leeds Rhinos and Warrington - named as an assistant.

Australia and Scotland meet in the competition opener on Friday, 28 October, with England taking on New Zealand on Saturday, 29 October.

The final is at Anfield on Sunday, 20 November.

New Zealand squad: Gerard Beale (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Adam Blair (Brisbane Broncos), Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Lewis Brown (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs), David Fusitu'a (NZ Warriors), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors), Jordan Kahu (Brisbane Broncos), Solomone Kata (NZ Warriors), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Sydney Roosters), Thomas Leuluai (NZ Warriors / Wigan Warriors), Issac Luke (NZ Warriors), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Te Maire Martin (Penrith Panthers), Manu Ma'u (Parramatta Eels), Jason Nightingale (St George-Illawarra Dragons), Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm), Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders), Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders), Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys), Martin Taupau (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers).

Top Stories