Josh Hodgson: England hooker misses out on Dally M as Cronk and Taumalolo win

Cooper Cronk and Jason Taumalolo
Cooper Cronk and Jason Taumalolo were also named in the Dally M Team of the Year

North Queensland lock Jason Taumalolo and Melbourne half-back Cooper Cronk are joint winners of the National Rugby League 2016 Dally M Medal.

Canberra's Englishman Josh Hodgson had been in line for the 'best and fairest' award, but missed out despite being in the mix up to round 22.

The former Hull KR rake was also beaten to the Hooker of the Year title by Cronk's team-mate Cameron Smith.

Taumalolo had already won the player's association honour earlier this season.

Cronk has now won the award twice.

It is the second time in three years the award has been shared, with Jarryd Hayne and Johnathan Thurston taking the prize in 2014.

Dally M Team of the Year
Full-back: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)Half-back: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
Winger: Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)Prop: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
Centre: Joey Leilua (Canberra Raiders)Second-row: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
Stand-off: James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)Lock: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Hodgo's impact

Josh Hodgson
Not even England teammate James Graham (left) has won the Dally M medal

Despite arriving at Canberra to little fanfare in 2015, Hodgson has since been one of the stand-out players in the league.

He showed flashes of quality in last autumn's Test series against the Kiwis, but it is this season when he has taken off with his kicking game, four tries, 17 try assists and 784 tackles.

His influence helped the Raiders finish second in the regular season premiership and then make it to a semi-final berth.

However, his chances of winning the medal were dented when he was suspended for a grapple tackle on Jesse Bromwich in round 23 - costing him three points and a missed game.

Canberra did win some recognition for their efforts - with captain Jarrod Croker taking three prizes, coach Ricky Stuart honoured with coach of the year and Joey Leilua named centre of the year.

Other winners

  • Ash Taylor (Gold Coast)- Rookie of the Year
  • Jarrod Croker (Canberra) - Captain of the Year
  • Ricky Stuart (Canberra) - Coach of the Year
  • Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra) - Ken Stephens Medal (community projects)
  • Jarrod Croker (Canberra) - Provan Summons Medallist
  • Cameron Smith (Melbourne) - Representative Player of the Year
  • Jayden Brailey (Cronulla) - Holden Cup Player of the Year
  • Antony Milford (Brisbane) - Peter Frilingos Memorial Moment of the Year
  • Kezie Apps (New South Wales and Jillaroos) - Female Player of the Year
  • Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne) - Top Try Scorer
  • Jarrod Croker (Canberra) - Top Points Scorer