Super League Dream Team 2016: Six Hull FC players named in team of the year

Gareth Ellis and Danny Houghton
Gareth Ellis and Danny Houghton helped Hull to Challenge Cup success in 2016

Man of Steel nominees Gareth Ellis and Danny Houghton are among six Hull FC players featured in the 2016 Super League Dream Team.

Full-back Jamie Shaul, centre Mahe Fonua, prop Scott Taylor and back-rower Mark Minichello are also included.

Castleford's Denny Solomona, the third Man of Steel contender, is also there, along with Tigers team-mate Luke Gale.

Warrington's Chris Hill, Ryan Atkins, Kurt Gidley and Ben Currie and Wigan winger Dom Manfredi complete the team.

There are nine debutants in this season's team of the year, with Gale, Hill, Atkins and Ellis the only players to have featured before.

Hull's sextet played a key role in winning the 2016 Challenge Cup against Warrington in August, with the Wolves' four included players helping to exact some revenge with last Friday's League Leaders' Shield win.

2016 Dream Team: Jamie Shaul (Hull FC); Denny Solomona (Castleford Tigers), Ryan Atkins (Warrington Wolves), Mahe Fonua (Hull FC), Dom Manfredi (Wigan Warriors); Kurt Gidley (Warrington Wolves), Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers); Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves), Danny Houghton (Hull FC), Scott Taylor (Hull FC), Ben Currie (Warrington Wolves), Mark Minichiello (Hull FC), Gareth Ellis (Hull FC)

Subscribe to the BBC Sport newsletter to get our pick of news, features and video sent to your inbox.