Super League Super 8s: Wigan 30-22 Huddersfield

By Matt NewsumBBC Sport at DW Stadium
Dom Manfredi
Dom Manfredi scores the first of Wigan's four second-half tries
First Utility Super League Super 8s
Wigan 30 (6)
Tries: Farrell, Manfredi, Williams, Patrick, Crosby; Goals: Smith 5
Huddersfield 22 (10)
Tries: McGillvary 2, Hughes, Crabtree; Goals: Brough 3

Wigan began the Super 8s format with victory over Huddersfield to move level on points with leaders Leeds.

Trailing 10-6 at half-time, the Warriors responded with four second-half tries at DW Stadium.

With points carried over from games played so far this season, fourth-placed Giants are two points clear of Castleford, who play Hull FC on Friday.

The Super League and the Championship have split into three groups of eight for the remainder of the campaign.

Giants started strongly and exploited their advantage on the left-hand side with two almost identical tries for Jermaine McGillvary.

What are the Super 8s?
The 12-team Super League and Championship divisions have become three groups of eight - Super League, The Qualifiers and Championship Shield.
The top four in the smaller Super League will enter the play-offs to compete for a place in October's Grand Final at Old Trafford.
This structure is new for 2015, with the Rugby Football League reintroducing promotion and relegation following six years of the licensing system.
Read more on the new format

Both sides continued to leak errors in a high-paced encounter but Huddersfield were solid in defence as Warriors fought their way back into the game.

It took a fine run and try from Wigan's Liam Farrell at the end of the half to reduce the deficit.

The hosts scored two tries early in the second period through Dom Manfredi and George Williams.

Jack Hughes powered over for Giants against his parent club but Larne Patrick returned the favour to restore Wigan's eight-point cushion.

Huddersfield's Eorl Crabtree crashed over before Dom Crosby sealed victory for Wigan.

Wigan: Bowen; Charnley, Gelling, Bateman, Manfredi; Williams, Smith; Crosby, McIlorum, Mossop, J Tomkins, L Farrell, O'Loughlin.

Replacements: Powell, Clubb, Tautai, Patrick.

Huddersfield: Grix; McGillvary, Cudjoe, Wardle, Murphy; Brough, Ellis; Crabtree, Robinson, Huby, Hughes, Ta'ai, Lawrence.

Replacements: Baily, Kopczak, Leeming, Smith.

Attendance: 11,448.

Referee: Ben Thaler.