NRL Grand Final: South Sydney 30-6 Canterbury Bulldogs

Sam and George Burgess celebrate
Brothers Sam and George Burgess celebrate
South Sydney Rabbitohs (6) 30
Tries: Johnston, G Burgess, Auva'a, Reynolds, Inglis Goals: Reynolds 5
Canterbury Bulldogs (0) 6
Tries: Williams Goals: Hodkinson

Sam Burgess shrugged off a suspected broken cheekbone to guide South Sydney Rabbitohs to victory over Canterbury Bulldogs in the NRL Grand Final.

The 25-year-old, who moves to rugby union side Bath later this month, was injured in an early clash with fellow Englishman James Graham.

But he stayed on to help the Rabbitohs to a first NRL title in 43 years.

He also became the first non-Australian to win the Clive Churchill medal for the man of the match.

"It feels like I cracked my eye socket in the first attack, but I just played on adrenalin after that and my team-mates talked me through it," said Burgess.

"I'm sure it will hurt tomorrow, but I would do it all over again. It is a feeling you can't replicate and I am thankful to play in this position."

George, Sam and Thomas Burgess
George, Sam and Thomas Burgess enjoy the victory celebrations

Burgess's 22-year-old twin brothers George, who scored a second-half try, and Thomas also played key parts in the game watched by a record crowd of 83,833 at the ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

Rabbitohs owner and film star Russell Crowe played a key role in Burgess's move from Bradford Bulls in 2010 and the Yorkshireman has been a huge success since joining the NRL.

In August 2013, Sam, Thomas and George, as well as older brother Luke, who missed out on a place in the Grand Final squad, became the first set of four siblings to play for an Australian top-flight side in the same game for more than a century.

Sam has signed a three-year contract with Bath and has been touted for a place in the England squad for the 2015 World Cup.

The success at South Sydney for coach Michael Maguire comes after he led Wigan to the Super League title in 2010.

South Sydney: Inglis, Johnston, Walker, Auva'a, Tuqiri, Keary, Reynolds, G Burgess, Koroisau, Tyrrell, Te'o, Sutton, S Burgess. Interchange: Clark, Turner, McQueen, T Burgess

Canterbury: Perrett, Thompson, J Morris, Lafai, Brown, Reynolds, Hodkinson, Tolman, Mbye, Graham, Jackson, Williams, Eastwood. Interchange: Tim Browne, Dale Finucane, David Klemmer, Frank Pritchard

Sam Burgess
Burgess was among the winners at the NRL's Dally M awards earlier this week
Russell Crowe and Sam Burgess
Crowe pulled out all the stops to get Sam Burgess to the NRL
Russell Crowe
Gladiator star Crowe took over the club in 2006

Top Stories