Australian Billy Slater named international player of the year

Billy Slater
Slater was first named International Player of the Year in 2008

Australia full-back Billy Slater has won the international player of the year award for a second time.

The 28-year-old helped Queensland to State of Origin success and won the minor Premiership title with his Melbourne Storm side.

Southern hemisphere players dominated the ceremony in London as Jharal Yow Yeh of Brisbane won Rookie of the Year.

Former Rugby Football League chief executive David Oxley won the Spirit of Rugby League award.

Slater won the main award ahead of club and country team-mate Cameron Smith and New Zealand's Benji Marshall.

Smith and Marshall had the consolation of being named as stand-off of the year and hooker of the year respectively.

Manly Sea Eagles' Des Hasler won the prize for coach of the year having seen his side win the National Rugby League's Grand Final.

Full list of award winners:

Player of the Year: Billy Slater (Melbourne)

Rookie: Jharal Yow Yeh (Brisbane)

Coach: Des Hasler (Manly)

Referee: Tony Archer (Australia)

Team of the year:

Full-back: Billy Slater (Melbourne)

Winger: Akuile Uate (Newcastle)

Centre: Jamie Lyon (Manly)

Stand-off: Benji Marshall (West Tigers)

Scrum-half: Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly)

Prop: Matt Scott (North Queensland)

Hooker: Cameron Smith (Melbourne)

Second Row: Sam Thaiday (Brisbane)

Loose Forward: Paul Gallen (Cronulla)

Top Stories