Cookstown 100: Derek Sheils races to double in feature and Open events

Derek Sheils
Derek Sheils was a double winner at the 2016 Cookstown 100

Derek Sheils repeated his double of 12 months ago by winning the Feature and Open races at the Cookstown 100.

The Dubliner won the main event by 11 seconds from Derek McGee, who took an impressive five second places overall.

William Dunlop won Supersport 600cc race one, with Adam McLean taking his first win in that class in race two.

James Cowton overhauled McGee on the final lap to clinch a thrilling Supertwins triumph, with Sam Wilson taking victory in the 125cc/Moto3.

McLean completed the podium in the Supertwins, with Sweeney, Sheils and Jordan making up the top six leaderboard.

Ballymoney's Paul Robinson followed Wilson home in the 125cc, then Justin Waring, Nigel Moore and Gary Dunlop.

Adam McLean won the second Supersport race from Derek McGee and James Cowton

Yamaha-mounted Dunlop edged out Mullingar man McGee in Supersport race one, McLean taking third and Cowton, Sheils and Jordan completing the top six.

Kawasaki rider McGee was again forced to settle for second best in the Open race, with Dunlop third on the Temple Golf Club Yamaha which he will ride for the remainder of the season.

Skerries competitor Michael Sweeney was fourth, Guy Martin fifth and Waterford's Brian McCormack sixth.

McLean saw off McGee and Cowton in the second Supersport event, while Dunlop was fourth, then Sheils, Jordan, Sweeney and Martin.

The racing was punctuated by a number of red flag incidents throughout, but none of the riders involved are thought to have been seriously injured.

Czech rider Michal Dokoupil crashed in Friday night's Supersport outing and McAdoo Racing pilot Cowton was off in the Open race without injury.

Cookstown 100 Results

Feature Race - 1 Derek Sheils; 2 Derek McGee; 3 Michael Sweeney; 4 William Dunlop; 5 James Cowton; 6 Alistair Kirk

Open Race - 1 Derek Sheils; 2 Derek McGee; 3 William Dunlop; 4 Michael Sweeney; 5 Guy Martin; 6 Brian McCormack

Supersport 600cc Race 1 - 1 William Dunlop; 2 Derek McGee; 3 Adam McLean; 4 James Cowton; 5 Derek Sheils; 6 Paul Jordan

Supersport 600cc Race 2 - 1 Adam McLean; 2 Derek McGee; 3 James Cowton; 4 William Dunlop; 5 Derek Sheils; 6 Paul Jordan

Supertwins - 1 James Cowton; 2 Derek McGee; 3 Adam McLean; 4 Michael Sweeney; 5 Derek Sheils; 6 Paul Jordan

125cc/Moto3 - 1 Sam Wilson; 2 Paul Robinson; 3 Justin Waring; 4 Nigel Moore; 5 Gary Dunlop

Top Stories