Dan Kneen secures maiden Enkalon Trophy win at Bishopscourt

Dan Kneen was the winner of the Enkalon Trophy held over two legs
Dan Kneen was the winner of the Enkalon Trophy held over two legs

Manxman Dan Kneen secured his first Enkalon Trophy success in the Irish Championship short circuit meeting at Bishopscourt on Saturday.

Riding his BMW Superstock machine, Kneen collected the trophy based on the results of the two Superbike races.

The 29-year-old won the first race on his DTR Penz13.com backed bike, then finished second to South African Hudson Kennaugh on a Kawasaki in race two.

Jason Lynn and Ross Patterson were the Supersport 600cc winners.

The traditional Easter curtain-raiser to the Northern Ireland racing season saw the 40th running of the showpiece Enkalon Trophy at the County Down circuit.

Pole man Kneen, more renowned for his road racing exploits in recent years, won Superbike race one by 1.6 seconds from Northern Ireland's Gerard Kinghan on a Kawasaki, with Alistair Kirk completing the podium.

KMR Kawasaki pilot Kennaugh had to settle for fourth place in the opener, but upped the pace in his second outing of the day, which was re-started over four laps after a red flag incident.

South African-born Kennaugh edged out Kneen by 0.2 seconds, with Kinghan third on this occasion.

Lynn won the first Supersport event by four seconds from former British 125cc champion Christian Elkin, with Korie McGreevy third. Patterson beat Lynn by 0.3 seconds in race two.

Mark Hanna was a double winner in the Supertwins class and Ballymoney's Darryl Tweed chalked up a brace in the Lightweight Supersport.

Top Stories