Dr McKenna Cup: Tyrone 1-14 0-15 Derry

Tyrone's Mark Donnelly battles with Derry's Ciaran Mullan at Healy Park

Substitute Conor McAliskey struck a late goal to give Tyrone a narrow victory over neighbours Derry in their opening McKenna Cup game at Healy Park.

The Oak Leafers looked like they had done enough, but the introduction of Sean Cavanagh gave the Red Hands a massive edge as he hit seven points.

The sides were level at 0-7 apiece at half-time, but Derry eased ahead with three points after the break.

McAliskey slid home the crucial goal three minutes from the end.

Brian McIver's tenure as Derry manager looked like it was going to get off a winning start until the arrival of former Footballer of the Year Cavanagh, who was making his first appearance since last season's NFL Division two final.

Ballinderry attacker Ryan Bell slotted over a '45 and landed a wonderful point from play as Derry pushed ahead, with the place kicking of Cavanagh and Stephen O'Neill keeping Tyrone in touch.

Six unanswered points either side of the break eased Derry into a three-point lead.

But back came the home side with three Cavanagh scores, before McAliskey ensured that the Red Hands got their Section C campaign off to a winning start.

After the match, Tyrone manager Mickey Harte said he was "happy with the win, but unhappy with aspects of our play when we didn't perform as we should".

"We had to work our way back into the game and I'm pleased with how we did that, but credit to Derry, they played well and made it difficult for us."

New Derry manager Brian McIver said he was "pleased with aspects of his side's play" but added that "there is a lot of work to do".


Tyrone: Niall Morgan; Dermot Carlin; Conor Gormley, Barry Tierney; Ryan McKenna, Joe McMahon, Danny McBride; Conor Clarke, Sean Cavanagh; Kevin Gallagher, Mark Donnelly, Matthew Donnelly; Martin Penrose, Stephen O'Neill, Jonathan Lafferty.

Derry: Eoin McNicholl; Dermot McBride, Ciaran Mullan, Ryan Ferris; Sean Leo McGoldrick, Mark Lynch, Charlie Kielt; P J McCloskey, Patsy Bradley; Ryan Bell, Raymond Wilkinson, Barry McGoldrick; James Kielt, Lee Kennedy, Eoin Bradley. Subs: Thomas Mallon, Micheal Anderson, Philip Bradley, Aidan McAlynn, Brian McCallion, Declan Brown, Blaine Gormley, Daniel Heavron, Declan Mullan, Coilin Devlin, Enda Lynn.

Power NI Dr McKenna Cup results

Section A

Monaghan 1-13 2-06 St Mary's University College

Section B

Cavan 0-12 1-11 Down

Section C

UUJ 2-09 1-15 Antrim

Tyrone 1-14 0-15 Derry

Top Stories