Donegal trio named in All Star Football selection

Karl Lacey
Karl Lacey is joined in the football selection by his Donegal team-mates Neil McGee and Kevin Cassidy

Donegal trio Neil McGee, Kevin Cassidy and Karl Lacey picked up Football All Stars at Friday evening's annual GAA awards in Dublin.

McGee won the full-back award with Cassidy and Lacey in the half-backs.

All-Ireland champions Dublin earned six awards with beaten finalists Kerry earning four spots.

Mayo and Kildare were also represented in the team while Alan Brogan and Michael Fennelly were named footballer and hurler of the year.

Brogan was joined by his brother Bernard, Stephen Cluxton, Kevin Nolan, Michael Darragh McAuley, Paul Flynn as the Dublin All Star football winners.

The Kerry quartet were Marc O Se, Bryan Sheehan, Darran O'Sullivan and Colm Cooper.

Mayo's Andy Moran was named at full-forward with Kildare's Michael Foley picked at left full-back.

Dublin's Liam Rushe was named young hurler of the year with Mayo's Cillian O'Connor selected as the young footballer of the year.

Kerry's Shane Nolan won the Christy Ring Cup player of the year award with Donegal's Niall Campbell and London's Martin Finn winning the Lory Meagher Cup and Nicky Rackard Cup players of the year honours.

The year was the first time that the GAA's All Star awards were jointly sanctioned by the Gaelic Players Association.

All Star Football team

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Marc O Se (Kerry), Neil McGee (Donegal), Michael Foley (Kildare), Kevin Cassidy (Donegal), Karl Lacey (Donegal), Kevin Nolan (Dublin), Bryan Sheehan (Kerry), Michael Darragh McAuley (Dublin), Darran O'Sullivan (Kerry), Alan Brogan (Dublin), Paul Flynn (Dublin), Colm Cooper (Kerry), Andy Moran (Mayo), Bernard Brogan (Dublin)