Saffrons suffering injury crisis ahead of Donegal clash

Antrim defender Andy McClean
Andy McClean needs to undergo a cartilage operation

Paddy Cunningham and Kevin O'Boyle have joined Antrim's list of absentees for Sunday's vital Allianz Football League Division 2 clash against Donegal.

Ace free-taker Cunningham is ruled out by a shoulder problem while O'Boyle will also miss the Ballyshannon clash because of injury.

Justin Crozier, Kevin Niblock, Andy McClean, Michael McCann and CJ McGourty are also out because of injury.

Kevin McGourty is suspended for the must-win clash for the Saffrons.

Defeat will almost certainly guarantee a return to Division 3 for the Saffrons.

Division 2 leaders Donegal will be strong favourites to win after producing an unbeaten five-match run thus far.

Jim McGuinness' side have earned three wins and two draws which leaves them a point ahead of second-placed Kildare.

McClean requires a cartilage operation and could be ruled out of action for the rest of the season.

CJ McGourty is expected to undergo hip surgery next week and could still be available for Antrim's Ulster Championship opener against Donegal on 15 May.

Derry manager John Brennan has reacted to the defeat by Donegal last time out by making four changes for Sunday's clash with Meath at Celtic Park.

Michael Conlon replaces goalkeeper Danny Devlin with Charlie Kielt, Mark Lynch and Paddy Bradley taking over from Aidan McAlynn, Ciaran McGoldrick and Caolan O'Boyle.

Antrim: S O'Neill, C Brady, R Johnston, A Douglas, T Scullion, C Murray, A Healy, A Gallagher, S Burke, T O'Neill, M Sweeney, M McAleese, K Brady, B Herron, T McCann. Replacements: C Kerr, M Dougan, D Edwards, C Fleming, M Johnston, J Laverty, K Marron, A McKeefry, C Murray, B Neeson, P Owens.

Derry: M Conlon, C Mullan, K McCloy, D McBride, G O'Kane, J O'Kane, C Kielt, PJ McCloskey, M Friel, M Lynch, SL McGoldrick, M Donaghy, E Muldoon, P Bradley, C Gilligan. Subs: D Devlin, M Bateson, O Duffy, B Doyle, B McGoldrick, N Holly, C O'Boyle, J Kielt, C McGoldrick, L Moore, R Shivers.