MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo secures third successive win

Jorge Lorenzo is second in the world championship standings

Jorge Lorenzo secured his third successive MotoGP win with victory at Mugello to boost his world title hopes.

The 28-year-old two-time world champion beat pole sitter Andrea Iannone and championship leader Valentino Rossi, who finished third.

Defending champion Marc Marquez, fourth in the standings, crashed with six laps remaining.

Britain's Cal Crutchlow also failed to finish, crashing out from fifth with three laps to go.

Lorenzo is now six points behind Rossi in the championship standings.

"I've been in this form in the past," said Lorenzo. "I've won three races in a row before but now I want to make it four [Catalunya in a fortnight]."

The Spaniard dominated from the outset, moving into the lead on the first lap and powering ahead of rivals, at times lapping over a second quicker than anyone else.

Marquez had battled superbly to climb from 13th to third but his late crash provided a huge dent to his title hopes.

He is fifth in the standings, 49 points behind leader Rossi.

Italian Grand Prix results
1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 41:39.173 2. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 41:44.736 3. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 41:45.834 4. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 1:49.151 5. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 41:54.457 6. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 41:54.838 7. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 42:02.978 8. Michele Pirro (Italy) Ducati 42:08.325 9. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 42:11.181 10. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 42:13.744 11. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 42:17.726 12. Loris Baz (France) Yamaha Forward 42:21.331 13. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 42:23.974 14. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Aprilia 42:29.608 15. Eugene Laverty (Ireland) Honda 42:32.233
World Championship standings
1. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 118 points 2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 112 3. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 83 4. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 81 5. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 69 6. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 57 7. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Honda 47 8. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 45 9. Maverick Vinales (Spain) Suzuki 36 10. Danilo Petrucci (Italy) Ducati 32 11. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Suzuki 31 12. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 26 13. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 23 14. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 18 15. Hector Barbera (Spain) Ducati 16

Top Stories