John McGuinness wins Senior TT in Isle of Man

John McGuinness
John McGuinness also won the opening Superbike race

John McGuinness secured his 17th Isle of Man TT win by taking victory in Friday's six-lap Senior TT.

The Morecambe rider won by seven seconds from early leader Guy Martin with Bruce Anstey a further eight seconds behind in third.

Cameron Donald, Keith Amor and Ballymoney's Michael Dunlop completed the top-six leaderboard.

McGuinness set the fastest lap of the race at 131.25mph on his fourth circuit and also set a new race record.

The race was delayed by five hours because of wet roads on the north of the island.

Relentless TAS Suzuki rider Martin blasted into an early lead, enjoying a 4.5 seconds advantage over Anstey at the end of lap one with McGuinness a further 2.5 seconds behind in third.

Martin led Padgetts Honda rider Anstey by four seconds after lap two with McGuinness a second behind in third.

Honda rider McGuinness roared into the lead during lap three and he was 2.5 seconds ahead of Martin at the end of the lap.

The fourth lap turned out to McGuinness' fastest of the race as he lengthened the lead to 12 seconds.

Martin trailed by 13 seconds following the fifth lap and although the Lincolnshire rider closed the gap he was forced to settle for second, again missing out on his first TT success.

William Dunlop finished eighth and Ryan Farquhar 13th.

Simon Andrews confirmed his status as the best newcomer by taking 11th place, including a lap at over 125mph.

Adrian Archibald, Ian Lougher and Conor Cummins all retired.

Top Stories