Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. How the teams line up

    Jean-Eric Vergne
    Image caption: France's Jean-Eric Vergne is the man to beat this season

    DS Techeetah (Champions 2018-19)

    Jean-Eric Vergne (Drivers champion). The French former F1 driver is looking to win his third title in a row.

    Antonio Felix da Costa (6th). Joins the team from Andretti this year.

    Audi (Last season 2nd)

    Daniel Abt (7th). Finished strongly last season.

    Lucas Di Grassi (3rd). Winner of the first-ever FE race in 2014 - has won 10 E-Prix.

    Envision Virgin (3rd)

    Sam Bird (9th). 32-year-old Brit has raced with Virgin in every E-Prix.

    Robin Frijns (4th). The Dutchman won the last race of last season and tipped as a major contender this season.

    Nissan E.Dams (4th)

    Sebastien Buemi (2nd). Switzerland's 2015-16 champion - his 10 wins are the most of any drivers in the electric format.

    Oliver Rowland (10th). Had two podium finishes in 14 races last term.

    Andretti (5th)

    Max Guenther (17th). The youngest driver on the grid - was very fast in pre-season testing. Drove for Dragon last season.

    Alexander Sims (13th). 31-year-old Brit finished last season strongly with a fourth and second in the two races in New York.

    Mahindra Racing (6th)

    Jerome D’Ambrosio (11th). Belgian former Renault and Lotus F1 driver has been in Formula E from the start.

    Pascal Wehrlein (12th): Former Sauber and Manor F1 driver is starting his second season in Formula E.

    Panasonic Jaguar (7th)

    Mitch Evans (5th). 25-year-old New Zealander mentored by F1 great Mark Webber won one race and was second in two last season.

    James Calado (New driver): Brit who comes from the endurance circuit and won the Le Mans 24 Hour race in a Ferrari this year.

    Venturi (8th)

    Felipe Massa (15th). Veteran Ferrari racer is 38 years old and the oldest driver on the grid.

    Edoardo Mortara (14th). The 32-year-old Swiss won in Hong Kong but finished only twice in the next eight races.

    Geox Dragon (10th)

    Brendon Hartley (New driver). Has raced for Toro Rosso in Formula 1, but is a rookie in electric terms.

    Nico Mueller (New driver). The 27-year-old Swiss has shown himself to be extremely fast in testing over the past two years.

    Nio (11th)

    Oliver Turvey (20th). Briton who is a veteran of 47 Formula E races but still seeking a first win.

    Qing Hua Ma (New driver). China’s top electric driver - has form with Techeetah and Aguri.

    Porsche (New team)

    Andre Lotterer (8th): The young German driver moves over Techeetah with two seconds to his name last season.

    Neel Jani (New driver). Has competed in the last 11 Le Mans 24-hour races with Porsche, winning in 2016. Two previous Formula E drives for Dragon.

    Mercedes (New team)

    Stoffel Vandoorne (16th). Ex F1 driver who once stood in for in for Fernando Alonso at McLaren.

    Nyck De Vries (New driver): Dutch rookie driver for Mercedes who was on McLaren’s books until recently.

  2. What to look out for in the new season

    rome e prix

    Motorsport's cleanest racing series begins its sixth season this weekend as Formula E returns to action in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia for the opening two races.

    The new season features 14 races in 12 cities on four continents spread over nine months. All the races will be available live and free-to-air on BBC online platforms.

    France's Jean-Eric Vergne has won the past two editions of the championship but faces a fresh challenge with German manufacturing giants Mercedes and Porsche joining a series that last year produced nine different winners from 13 races.

    Formula E was launched back in 2014 with sustainability in mind, and organisers saying the aim was to "reduce our carbon footprint as much as possible".

    To achieve this, cars are powered by a battery that is made with 100% renewable fuel, and tyres that, as well as lasting an entire race, can also be recycled afterwards. Spectators are encouraged to use public transport to get to events, with no public car parking available.

  3. Formula E schedule 2019

    DS Techeetah cars

    22 Nov: Diriyah (Saudi Arabia)

    23 Nov: Diriyah (Saudi Arabia)

    18 Jan: Santiago (Chile)

    15 Feb: Mexico City (Mexico)

    Feb 29: Marrakesh (Morocco)

    Mar 21: Sanya (China)

    Apr 4: Rome (Italy)

    Apr 18: Paris (France)

    May 3: Seoul (South Korea)

    Jun 6: Jakarta (Indonesia)

    Jun 21: Berlin (Germany)

    Jul 11: New York (USA)

    Jul 25: London (GB)

    Jul 26: London (GB)

  4. How can I watch Formula E & the Diriyah E-Prix?

    All times GMT & subject to late changes

    BBC Sport

    The sixth season begins with a double-header in the Saudi Arabian city of Diriyah on 22-23 November.

    London is set to host the finale of the 2019-20 Formula E season with another double-header in July 2020.

    Live coverage of every race will be available to watch across the BBC Red Button, Connected TV, BBC Sport website, mobile app and the BBC iPlayer.

    Saturday, 23 November

    07:45-09:15 – Formula E Round 1: Diriyah Qualifying (race 2)

    11:00-13:30 – Formula E: Round 1 Diriyah Race (race 2)

  5. What happened last season?

    Video content

    Video caption: Highlights: Jean-Eric Vergne becomes first ever back-to-back Formula E champion

    Jean-Eric Vergne became the first double Formula E champion at the season finale in New York after two title rivals crashed on the final lap.

    Going into this race, Mitch Evans and Lucas Di Grassi were championship contenders, and both needed at least a race win to claim the title.

    But Di Grassi attempted to overtake Evans running them both into the wall.

    Robin Frijns claimed the race victory, while Alexander Sims, and Sebastien Buemi finished in second and third.

  6. How to get involved

    BBC Sport

    Video content

    Video caption: Formula E: BBC Sport breaks down the new rules for the Formula E season

    If you're inspired to take up motorsport after watching BBC's coverage of Formula E, you can find out more here