Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. What are the EuroHockey Championships?

    Image caption: Ireland lost to Austria in the 2017 semi-finals

    The EuroHockey Championships take place every two years with men's and women's tournaments which involve the eight best teams from around the continent.

    This year’s contest is being held in Antwerp, Belgium and the men's edition includes England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland as they aim not only to win the coveted title but also to secure automatic qualification for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

    While the champions will be on their way to Japan, the bottom two teams will suffer relegation to the EuroHockey Championship II, and will be replaced by the top two teams from that tournament for the 2021 edition.

    England are the only one of the home nations to have won the men's tournament, doing so in the Netherlands in 2009, but Ireland finished third in 2015, beating England 4-2 in the third-place playoff. Wales and Scotland both earned promotion from EuroHockey II in 2017. Germany are the most successful side in EuroHockey history, with eight men's titles since the competition began in 1970.

    The eight teams are divided into two pools of four, who will compete in a round robin before the top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals. The bottom two teams in each group will drop into Pool C, where they will play off to avoid relegation.

  2. The Ireland team

    Shane O'Donoghue
    Image caption: Shane O'Donoghue

    Ireland take on Scotland, Germany and the Netherlands in Pool B as they look to seal a place at the Olympics next year.

    Shane O’Donoghue, who top-scored for Ireland in their 2015 campaign and scored twice in the third-place play-off against England, is named in the squad alongside Eugene Magee, who has racked up a remarkable 233 caps for the Green Machine going into the tournament.

    Ireland come into the competition ranked 11 in the world but after reaching the semi-finals in both 2015 and 2017, can feel confident about their chances of upsetting Germany or the Netherlands.

  3. EuroHockey Championships on the BBC

    All times are BST and subject to change.

    The BBC will have live coverage of all of the home nations’ matches in both the men’s and women’s competitions, as well as the semi-finals and finals.

    All of the matches will be available to watch on the BBC Sport website and app as well via the BBC iPlayer, where you can also watch the matches back on catch-up.

    Click here for the full schedule for both the men’s and women’s matches – below is the list of Ireland's men’s matches you can watch on the BBC.

    Saturday 17 August

    15:45-17:45 – Netherlands v Ireland, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

    Sunday 18 August

    14:45-16:45 – Ireland v Scotland, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

    Tuesday 20 August

    14:45-16:45 – Ireland v Germany, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

    Thursday 22 August

    17:00-19:00 - 1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

    19:30-21:30 - 1st Pool B v 2nd Pool A, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

    Saturday 24 August

    19:30-21:30 - Men's Final, BBC Sport website and app & Connected TV

  4. How to get into hockey

    Get Inspired


    Video content

    Video caption: Emma Watson gets back to hockey

    Hockey is in some ways like football. It's an 11 a-side team game, where the aim is to score a goal in the opposing team's net.

    There are different variations of the game, so hockey is for everyone, regardless of age, ability or gender. There's also a real social side, with a culture of team bonding off the field.

    Play Hockey is a good place to start for those who are new to the game or interested in coming back to it after years away. Simply type in your postcode to locate your nearest club.