Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

By Jack Skelton

All times stated are UK

  1. Au revoir

    I'll be back with live coverage of the stage 14 time trial from about 13:00 BST tomorrow.

    And make sure you also check in from 08:30 for live coverage of the women's La Course too.

    In the mean time, the report of Simon Yates' maiden Tour de France stage win is building here.

    Adam Yates' stage-by-stage guide is here.

    You can download the BeSpoke podcast here.

    And we'll also try to find out just why world time trial champion Rohan Dennis abandoned in mysterious circumstances earlier, the day before the only ITT in the race.

    But for now, farewell.

  2. Post update

    Defending champion Geraint Thomas, speaking to ITV4: "We were expecting something to happen on the final climb, especially with the gap at four minutes to the break but nothing materialised.

    "I think everyone is mindful of the next three days, which are going to be big for the GC.

    "Luke Rowe rode the last climb on the front the whole way with Dylan van Baarle and then they both chopped of at the end. They are in great form - it's not a bad team to have around me.

    "I'll go all out in the time trial tomorrow and see where it puts me. It would be great to win the stage but Dennis and Van Aert are my favourites.

    Rohan Dennis is out of the race, he abandoned today.

    "OK then - Van Aert is my favourite!"

  3. Post update

    So no change in the general classification top 10 today.

    But there will be after tomorrow's individual time trial in Pau before two massive days in the Pyrenees.

  4. GC after stage 12

    1. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 52hrs 26mins 09secs
    2. Geraint Thomas (GB/Team Ineos) +1min 12secs
    3. Egan Bernal (Col/Team Ineos) +1min 16secs
    4. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned/Team Jumbo-Visma) +1min 27secs
    5. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) + 1min 45secs
    6. Enric Mas (Spa/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) 1min 46secs
    7. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) 1min 47secs
    8. Nairo Quintana (Col/Movistar Team) +2mins 4secs
    9. Daniel Martin (Ire/UAE Team Emirates) +2mins 9secs
    10. Thibaut Pinot (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) +2mins 33 secs
  5. Post update

    Stage winner Simon Yates: "I've been saving energy until we got here in the mountaints and this was the first chance to try something. Normally I would be back helping Adam but had my own chance and grabbed it with both hands.

    "I wasn't very confident of beating either of them as I didn't know how fast they are. But my director said I had to be in front coming round the last corner so I made sure I did that and thankfully held on to win.

    "I'm very proud of winning stages in all three Grand Tours and hopefully there are more to come.

    "We'll see if there are more chances this Tour - my main priority is to help Adam. I just had the chance to get up the road today. I'll see how I am in the next few days.

    "We're having a fantastic Tour and long may it continue."

  6. Post update

    That finish wasn't as close as it looked from front on actually.

    Finally we get a replay from the side and Simon Yates finished most of a bike length over Pello Bilbao and Gregor Muhlberger.

  7. Post update

    Simon Brotherton

    Commentator on BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra

    Julian Alaphilippe might be able to keep his yellow jersey tomorrow too. He can put in a good time trial when it's all on the line.

  8. Post update

    Thomas, Alaphilippe et al cruise over the line in Bagneres-de-Bigorre.

    A day off before tomorrow's vital individual time trial.

  9. Post update

    Team Ineos are leading the peloton through the final 2km now.

    An easy day for Geraint Thomas and Egan Bernal.

    Julian Alaphilippe coasts to another day in the yellow jersey.

  10. Top 10 on stage 12

    1. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott)
    2. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Astana)
    3. Gregor Muhlberger (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe)
    4. Tiesj Benoot (Bel/Lotto Soudal)
    5. Fabio Felline (Ita/Trek-Segafredo)
    6. Matteo Trentin (Ita/Mitchelton-Scott)
    7. Oliver Naesen (Bel/AG2R La Mondiale)
    8. Rui Costa (Por/UAE Team Emirates)
    9. Simon Clarke (Aus/EF Education First)
    10. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
  11. Post update

    The peloton will just roll through the finish in a few minutes, the GC race never getting under way today.

    Adam Yates has just been told his twin brother has won the stage and starts grinning.

  12. Post update

    That completes the set for Simon Yates, who has now won stages at all three Grand Tours.

    The Vuelta champion used all his nous and experience there.

    In a straight sprint, Gregor Muhlberger probably wins that, but Yates nailed the technical run-in, taking the best lines through all tight bends.

  13. Post update

    Simon Brotherton

    Commentator on BBC Radio 5 Live Sports Extra

    Simon Yates rode that tactically brilliantly. He had the cool head and the fast legs.

  14. BreakingYates wins stage 12

    And Simon Yates does it! The Briton wins his maiden Tour de France stage, holding off Gregor Muhlberger and Pello Bilbao on the line.

    He played that perfectly, surging to the front in time for that sharp left-hander and showing enough speed to pip them to it.

  15. Post update

    Yates kicks. Muhlberger and Bilbao respond.

    I think Yates has this!

  16. 150m to go

    Yates leads into the sharp left-hander with 150m to go.

  17. 300m to go

    Yates is hanging back, waiting for the move.

  18. 500m to go

    Bilbao slows. Muhlberger and Yates fan across the road alongside him.

  19. Post update

    Bilbao still leading, Muhlberger and Yates don't want to come past him now.

    They are going to force the Spaniard to lead it out.

  20. 1km to go

    Pello Bilbao leads Gregor Muhlberger and Simon Yates into the final km of stage 12.