Got a TV Licence?

You need one to watch live TV on any channel or device, and BBC programmes on iPlayer. It’s the law.

Find out more
I don’t have a TV Licence.

Live Reporting

All times stated are UK

  1. Today's order of play on BBC Sport

    BBC Sport is showing all of the action from Court One:

    Women's singles:  Pursala Sindhu (Ind) v Dinar Dyah Ayustine (Idn)

    Men's singles: Chong Lee Wei (Mas) v Wang Tzu Wei (Tpe)

    Mixed doubles: Takeshi Kamura & Keigo Sonoda (Jpn) v Kim Astrup & Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (Den)

    Women's singles:  Hsu Ya Ching (Tpe) v Ratchanok Intanon (Thai)

    Mixed doubles:  Xu Chen & Du Yue (Chn) v Chris Adcock & Gabrielle Adcock (Eng)

    Full scores from all courts are available here  (external).

  2. Are there any Brits in action?

    In the mixed doubles, husband and wife Chris and Gabrielle Adcock will be competing and will be looking to build on last year’s semi-final finish. They take on Xu Chen and Du Yue from China. 

    GB's Chris and Gabby Adcock
    Image caption: Husband and wife, Chris and Gabby Adcock.

    Doubles pair Peter Briggs and Tom Wolfenden will also be in action. They'll face Indonesia's Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo at about 18:50 GMT. You can follow the scores from that fixture here .

    Peter Briggs and Tom Wolfenden
    Image caption: Peter Briggs and Tom Wolfenden
  3. How do I get into badminton?

    Badminton is a widely accessible sport played all across the country. Find out how you can get involved through our Get Inspired series by clicking here .

    For a list of upcoming badminton events and activities that encourage participation in sport across the UK, click here .

    Olympic silver medallist, Gail Emms
  4. What's the history of the tournament?

    Played annually, it is the world’s oldest badminton tournament. It was first held in London’s Horticultural Halls in 1899 and has only ever been halted twice- due to the two World Wars.

    England’s George Alan Thomas is the most successful player to have played in the Championships, winning a record 21 times including four men’s singles, nine men’s doubles and eight mixed doubles titles.

    The All England Open Badminton Championships, 1938.
    Image caption: The All England Open Badminton Championships, 1938.
  5. Who are the current champions?

    Men’s singles: Lin Dan (China)

    Women’s singles: Nozomi Okuhara (Japan)

    Men’s doubles: Vladimir Ivanov/ Iva Sozonov (Russia)

    Women’s doubles: Misaki Matsutomo/ Ayaka Takahashi (Japan)

    Mixed doubles: Praveen Jordan/ Debby Susanto (Indonesia)

          China's Lin Dan after winning last year's men's singles title.
    Image caption: China's Lin Dan after winning last year's men's singles title.
  6. How do the All England Open Badminton Championships work?

    • There are five disciplines ; Men’s singles, Women’s singles, Men’s doubles, Women’s doubles and the Mixed doubles.
    • It’s the first to 21 points and players must win by two clear points . Matches are best out of three sets , meaning a player must win two out of the three to win the match.
    • There are six rounds ; the qualifiers, round one, round two, the quarter-finals on Friday, the semi-finals on Saturday and the final on Sunday.
    • The courts are marked by; a line down the centre, a short service line close to the net, and by sets of tramlines on either side and back of the court. The side tramlines can only be used in doubles, making it similar to a tennis court.
    Badminton Court
  7. What’s on today?

    Today is the second round as all five disciplines will be taking place across four courts. BBC Sport’s coverage will start at 12:00 GMT and run until 17:00 GMT .  

          Coverage of the All England Badminton Open Championships, Birmingham.
  8. When are the Championships?

    The Championships will take place from  Tuesday 7– Sunday 12 March 2017 at the Barclaycard Arena, Birmingham.

    Qualification and first round ties will take place from 7-8 March. BBC Sport will start its coverage of the Championships on Thursday 9 March and it will continue through to Sunday 12 March.