Scots Alan Forsyth and Chris Grassick named in GB hockey Olympic programme

Alan Forsyth (left) and Chris Grassick at the Glasgow National Hockey Centre
Alan Forsyth (left) is currently in Spain with the Scotland squad for challenge matches against Russia, while Chris Grassick recovers from injury

Scots Alan Forsyth and Chris Grassick have retained their places in the Great Britain Hockey senior programme for the Tokyo Olympics in 2020.

Paisley's Forsyth, 24, is with the Scotland squad in Spain for three Tests against Russia.

His Surbiton club-mate Grassick, 26, is currently recovering from a cruciate ligament injury.

"It's good to see the hard work of the players over the years has paid off," said Scotland coach Derek Forsyth.

"Hopefully they can push on for selection."

Forsyth's GB Men's counterpart Bobby Crutchley said he was "excited about the challenge" of preparing for the 2020 Olympics.

"We have a vibrant squad with a good blend of youth and experience and we're eager to get going.

"We're very excited about this new group. There's been significant change and we're looking forward to developing the players."

Full-time players on Great Britain hockey senior programme

James Albery (Beeston)+

David Ames (Holcombe)

Liam Ansell (Surbiton)+

Tom Carson (Reading)

David Condon (East Grinstead)

Brendan Creed (Surbiton)+

Adam Dixon (Rotterdam)

Alan Forsyth (Surbiton)*

Harry Gibson (Surbiton)

Mark Gleghorne (Beeston)

David Goodfield (Surbiton)+

Chris Grassick (Surbiton)*

Chris Griffiths (East Grinstead)

Michael Hoare (Wimbledon)

Harry Martin (Rotterdam)

Barry Middleton (Holcombe)

George Pinner (Holcombe)

Phil Roper (Wimbledon)

Liam Sanford (Team Bath Buccaneers)+

Ian Sloan (Wimbledon)

Luke Taylor (Loughborough University)+

Sam Ward (Holcombe)

Henry Weir (Wimbledon)

Ollie Willars (Beeston)

Part-time players

Jonty Griffiths (Loughborough University)+

Ed Horler (Loughborough University)+

Dan Kyriakides (Cardiff and Met)+**

+New addition to the central programme

*Qualifies to represent Scotland

** Qualifies to represent Wales