Irish women's coach Darren Smith picks World League 2 squad

Ireland's women's hockey team prepare for World League 2 which is part of the qualifying process for the 2016 Olympics.

Ireland coach Darren Smith has named an 18-woman squad for next month's World League 2, the latest stage of the Olympic qualifying process.

Ulster players Lizzie Colvin, Megan Frazer, Shirley McCaw, Katie Mullan and Ayeisha McFadden are all included for the event in Dublin.

Ali Meeke is an injury doubt after suffering a broken hand so Yvonne O'Byrne is also named in the squad.

The Irish will face Ukraine, Canada and Turkey in their initial group games.

Smith's squad need a top-two finish at the tournament to progress to World League 3.

The Irish are the highest ranked team going into the competition.

They will face Ukraine in their opener on 14 March before game against Canada (15 March) and Turkey (17 March).

"We're very excited to be hosting World League 2 and playing in front of our home crowd," said the Ireland coach.

"It's going to be a tough tournament with eight good teams and Canada, Chile, Belarus and Ukraine in particular all vying for top spots."

Ireland women's squad: Naomi Carroll, Lizzie Colvin, Aine Connery, Nicci Daly, Kate Dillon, Nikki Evans, Megan Frazer (capt), Emma Gray, Shirley McCay, Ayeisha McFerran, Hannah Matthews, Katie Mullan, Anna O'Flanagan, Gill Pinder, Cliodhna Sargent (vice-capt), Emma Smyth, Chloe Watkins, (Ali Meeke/ Yvonne O'Byrne)