Solheim Cup: Charley Hull and Georgia Hall in Catriona Matthew's Europe team

Charley Hull
This will be Charley Hull's fourth Solheim Cup appearance

England's Charley Hull and Georgia Hall will play for Europe in next month's Solheim Cup against the United States.

Hull and Hall qualified via their world ranking, along with Spain's Azahara Munoz, Caroline Masson of Germany, and Sweden's Anna Nordqvist.

Caroline Hedwall of Sweden, Spain's Carlota Ciganda and Dutchwoman Anne van Dam qualify through the points list.

On Monday, Europe captain Catriona Matthew will reveal four wildcard picks for the event at Gleneagles, Scotland.

The 16th edition of the biennial event takes place from 13-15 September and Matthew will confirm the 12-strong squad at 14:00 BST.

Van Dam, 23, will be making her debut after securing her place by finishing joint sixth at last week's Ladies Scottish Open - the final qualifying event for Europe's players.

Ciganda is the highest-ranked European in the world rankings, at 13th, with Hull at 28 and Hall 32nd.

England's Bronte Law is three places higher than Hull after her first LPGA Tour victory in May lifted her into the world's top 25. She could not qualify automatically because she had not played enough events on the Ladies European Tour but is expected to be selected by Matthew.

Vice-captain Suzann Pettersen is a surprise contender having played just twice since November 2017 after taking time off to have a baby, while France's Celine Boutier is in the frame after narrowly failing to qualify following her sixth place in the Women's British Open.

Others still in the mix include English trio Mel Reid, Jodi Ewart Shadoff and Meghan MacLaren, as well as Germany's Esther Henseleit, Norway's Marianne Skarpnord and Sweden's Pernilla Lindberg.

US captain Juli Inkster will name her squad in two weeks, after the CP Women's Open. Inkster will select two wildcard players with 10 qualifying through their points system and world ranking positions.

The US are favourites to claim a third straight victory and have won 10 of the previous 15 editions. However, Europe have won both times the event has been staged in Scotland, at Dalmahoy in 1992 and Loch Lomond in 2000.

Top Stories