Presidents Cup: United States win seventh successive title

Us team
The US won a 10th Presidents Cup

The United States beat the International team 19-11 to win a seventh successive Presidents Cup.

The Americans headed into the singles matches with a 14½-3½ lead and needing half a point to retain their title.

Kevin Chappell got the half against Marc Leishman and, after wins for Jason Day and Hideki Matsuyama, Daniel Berger beat Si Woo Kim for the outright win.

The visitors did muster a response on Sunday, winning six of the 12 singles matches after the result was decided.

The hosts looked to be on target to beat their biggest victory of 21½-10½ in 2000, set before the number of matches was trimmed to its current 30.

The International team had won just two matches in the previous four sessions heading into the singles, but Australia's Day and Japan's Matsuyama registered the first victories at Liberty National on the final day.

That was too little, too late as Berger's 2&1 win against South Korea's Kim put the Americans into an unassailable lead.

Daniel Berger
Daniel Berger won 2&1 to give the US an outright win

"What a feeling," said Berger, who was informed by US captain Steve Stricker at the 16th that the US had clinched a 10th title.

"Strick came up to me on 16 and told me the half a point was good enough. And then I just wanted to close out that match. It was an amazing week, and I feel excited for everyone on the team."

More International wins followed for Charl Schwartzel, Louis Oosthuizen, Adam Scott and Jhonattan Vegas as Nick Price's side made sure the Americans did not become the first team to win every session.

But the International team have not won a Presidents Cup since Royal Melbourne in 1998 - earning a tie at Fancourt in 2003 and losing the other nine matches.

Phil Mickelson and Rickie Fowler added gloss to the US score with 2&1 and 6&4 victories over Adam Hadwin and Emiliano Grillo respectively.

Sunday's singles results

Kevin Chappell HALVED Marc Leishman

Charley Hoffman 2&1 International win Jason Day

Justin Thomas 3&1 International win Hideki Matsuyama

Daniel Berger 2&1 US win Si Woo Kim

Matt Kuchar 1-UP International win Charl Schwartzel

Patrick Reed 1-UP International win Louis Oosthuizen

Dustin Johnson HALVED Branden Grace

Brooks Koepka 3&2 International win Adam Scott

Jordan Spieth 2&1 International win Jhonattan Vegas

Kevin Kisner HALVED Anirban Lahiri

Phil Mickelson 2&1 US win Adam Hadwin

Rickie Fowler 6&4 US win Emiliano Grillo

Top Stories