European Tour Q School: Major winner Yang and Ryder Cup victor Molinari earn cards

Y.E Yang
Y.E Yang earned a seven year exemption on the European Tour by winning the 2009 US PGA Championship

Major winner Y.E. Yang and former Ryder Cup player Edoardo Molinari were among the 30 golfers to earn a European Tour card for the 2017 season at Q School.

Yang's seven-year exemption for winning the 2009 US PGA Championship was set to expire but he finished tied 11th.

Englishman Nathan Kimsey won the event on 13 under par, while compatriots Tom Lewis and Eddie Pepperell were among the well-known players to also qualify.

Ricardo Gonzalez of Argentina became the oldest Q School graduate aged 47.

The annual event took place over six rounds at PGA Catalunya, near Barcelona.

Italian Molinari, who played on Europe's triumphant 2010 Ryder Cup team at Celtic Manor with younger brother Francesco, qualified for the second straight year in a tie for second on 12 under.

Welshman Stuart Manley earned a card, but countrymen Rhys Davies and Oliver Farr missed out.

England's Richard McEvoy was the final player to secure his qualification.

30 players who earned Tour cards: N Kimsey (Eng), R Gonzalez (Arg), S Henry (Sco), E Molinari (Ita), S Tiley (Eng), J Fahrbring (Swe), A Karlsson (Swe), E Pepperell (Eng), J Parry (Eng), M Nixon (Eng), R Echenique (Arg), S Soderberg (Swe), P Maddy (Eng), YE Yang (Kor), T Lewis (Eng), S Manley (Wal), A Chesters (Eng), J Winther (Den), S Heisele, L Canter (Eng), P Widegren (Swe), R Johnson (Swe), M Foster (Eng), M Orrin (Eng), G King (Eng), J Ahlers (RSA), E Kofstad (Nor), J Rutherford (Eng), N Johansson (Swe), R McEvoy (Eng)

We've launched a new BBC Sport newsletter, bringing all the best stories, features and video right to your inbox. You can sign up here.

Top Stories