This entry is now closed for comments.
Golf is going through a bad time in the USA and stuff like this doesn't help. What a carry on.
196 is bang on. The ruling on the 10th gave him a huge advantage and cameras showed him smiling and laughing. That I reckon has prompted them to get him and they have looked at the 5th again. 2 holes later they approach him! This along with all sorts of stories about his lay off and it all adds up I reckon. Golf has loads of daft rules and now we have Sky trying to change the rules to suit them
Well done to all the players on the final round, the USGA have proved to everyone that an amateur body should not be ruling a professional sport, this farce must never happen again or the golfers must make a stand and say 'we'll not continue until you make a decision'. Rory is right.
156. golferHH Grounding the club not the issue as the rules have changed they are basically calling him a liar implying he touched the ball which none of the replays have shown if they trick the greens up so severely the ball moves on a whim why question a golfers integrity?
Anyone who refers to the 'British Open' knows nothing about golf, as there is no such animal.
Silly title for the article. DJ wins full stop. Farcical is elsewhere.
What a waste of lovely countryside.
Thank goodness the outcome was not directly impacted.Johnson handled himself superbly, but the sequence of events was farcical. Westwood confirmed the call, and absent a very clear error, that should have been the end of it.I can see an argument for saying he had addressed the ball, but it was so, so marginal, the original call should have stood. To have it drag on how it did was a joke.
IMO, the best player won, the TV tower rule must be debated- its 2CL handling was apparently correct but as that handling is again a deviation from normal 1CL practices that was again confusing, all the players and all commentators apparently had no clue about that new rule reg. a moving ball, as such the USGA was formally right but very clumsy in its procedure, and Mrs. Murphy was fittingly ....
#201 Correct, jayuscarrot. What was the difference between Lowry's and DJ's case? Do we know? Given that Lowry thought the grounding of his putter was relevant, did he get that wrong too?
Why does golf still have these ridiculous, arcane rules? In Lowry's case the ball moved a centimetre though he hadn't touched it and it cost him a shot. Why? What advantage did he get? Ludicrous!
We're having some problems displaying the comments at the moment. Sorry. We're doing our best to fix it.
You must sign in to rate comments