Evian Championship: Kim Hyo-Joo beats Karrie Webb to major

Kim Hyo-Joo
Four South Koreans finished in the top five
Evian Championship final round leaderboard
-11 Kim HJ (Kor) -10 K Webb (Aus) -9 Jang HN (Kor), Hur MJ (Kor) -8 NY Choi (Kor) -7 S Pettersen (Nor) -6 P Creamer (US) -4 L Ko (NZ), B Lincicome (US) Selected others: -2 I Park (Kor), A Nordqvist (Swe) Level J Ewart Shadoff (Eng) +6 L Davies (Eng) +7 C Hull (Eng)

Korea's Kim Hyo-Joo saw off Karrie Webb to win the Evian Championship and become the third youngest major champion on the LPGA Tour.

Webb, 39, a seven-time major winner, held a one-shot lead going into the final hole in France.

But the 19-year-old held her nerve on the 18th green to sink a birdie putt, which put the pressure back on Webb.

The Australian had a putt to save par and force a play-off, but narrowly missed as Kim triumphed by one stroke.

Kim led after the first and third rounds, taking a one-shot lead over Webb into the final day.

Youngest women's major winners
Morgan Pressel (US)2007Kraft Nabisco Championship18 years 313 days
Lexi Thompson (US)2014Kraft Nabisco Championship19 years 55 days
Kim Hyo-Joo (Kor)2014Evian Championship19 years 62 days

Webb drew level with a birdie at the first, but then slipped back with a double bogey at the par-five second, which Kim birdied to open up a three-shot lead over her rival.

Both players picked up three shots mid-round, only for Kim to bogey the 14th and 16th as Webb birdied the 14th and 15th to take a slim lead into the final hole.

Kim's compatriots, Jang Ha Na, Hur Mi Jung and Na Yeon Choi, rounded out what would have been an all-Korean top five if not for Webb.

"I don't know what hit me - probably a rush of adrenaline - and it was a poor putt knowing I had to make it," said Webb.

"I swung it really well today, and I hit every green from the second hole until the end."

Webb's major success
Karrie Webb narrowly missed the opportunity to become the first woman to win six different majors.
She has previously won the US Women's Open (2000 & 2001), Kraft Nabisco Championship (2000 & 2006), LPGA Championship (2001) and the du Maurier Classic (1999) which was replaced as a major in 2000 by the Women's British Open, which Webb won in 2002.
The Evian Championship became the LPGA's fifth major in 2013. Webb won its previous incarnation, the Evian Masters, in 2006

Jodi Ewart Shadoff, who played in last year's Solheim Cup win for Europe, was the highest-placed Briton, tied for 20th on level par after carding a 66 which included six birdies on the first 11 holes.

Fellow Englishwoman Charley Hull, who began round four on one over par, endured a nightmare round of 77 featuring five bogeys, including three on the first four holes, a triple bogey at the 12th and a double bogey at the last.

Top Stories