All-Ireland SFC quarter-final: Armagh make two changes for Tyrone game

Andrew Murnin after walking the ball into Kildare's net last weekend
Andrew Murnin scored Armagh's crucial goal against Kildare last weekend
All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals: Tyrone v Armagh; Dublin v Monaghan
Venue: Croke Park, Dublin Date: Saturday, 5 August Throw-ins: 16:00 BST; 18:00
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio Ulster MW and the BBC Sport website

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney has made two changes for Saturday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final with Tyrone with Joe McElroy and Ciaran O'Hanlon called up.

Andrew Murnin and wing-back Aaron McKay both lose out after picking up knocks in last weekend's win over Kildare.

Murnin netted Armagh's crucial goal before a hamstring injury led to him being replaced by Ethan Rafferty.

Tyrone are unchanged while Monaghan also stick with the side that beat Down for their contest with Dublin.

The only Tyrone switch comes in the substitutes with Cathal McShane replaced by Frank Burns.

Jack McCarron and Conor McCarthy made hugely impressive contributions as Monaghan substitutes last weekend but the side picked on Thursday night remains the starting line-up which took to the field against the Mourne County.

As ever, there is always the possibility that Malachy O'Rourke will make changes before Saturday evening's throw-in.

Tyrone cruised to provincial glory and they are firm favourites for the Dublin date with their Ulster derby rivals.

Armagh lost their Ulster opener against Down but have battled through the qualifiers to make the last eight.

Harte has resisted making changes despite impressive substitute displays in the 2-17 to 0-15 win over Down in the Ulster decider last month.

Ronan O'Neill came off the bench to score two late goals while Declan McClure caught the eye after being introduced in midfield.

Armagh recovered after their two-point defeat by Down in early June to chalk up qualifier wins over Fermanagh, Westmeath, Tipperary and Kildare.

The game will bring back memories of battles between the sides from the last decade, which included the Red Hands' 2003 All-Ireland final win.

Dublin, meanwhile, will be even stronger favourites for their tie against O'Rourke's side.

Armagh: B Hughes; J Morgan, C Vernon, P Hughes; B Donaghy, M Shields, J McElroy; S Sheridan, N Grimley; R Grugan, C O'Hanlon, A Forker; J Clarke, G McParland, S Campbell.

Tyrone: N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; T McCann, P Hampsey, P Harte; C Cavanagh, C McCann; D Mulgrew, N Sludden, K McGeary; M Bradley, S Cavanagh, M Donnelly.

Dublin: S Cluxton; P McMahon, C O'Sullivan, M Fitzsimons; J Cooper, J Small, E Lowndes; B Fenton, J McCarthy; C Kilkenny, C O'Callaghan, J McCaffrey; P Mannion, P Andrews, D Rock.

Monaghan: R Beggan; F Kelly, D Wylie, R Wylie; C Walshe, K Duffy, K O'Connell; D Hughes, K Hughes; G Doogan, D Malone, S Carey; R McAnespie, D Freeman, C McManus.

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship quarter-finals - Saturday 5 August
TyronevArmagh 16:00
DublinvMonaghan 18:00

Top Stories