Football League Division Three: Armagh and Antrim secure league wins

CJ McGourty
CJ McGourty was a regular points-scorer for Antrim

Armagh and Antrim secured the first wins of their Football League Division Three campaigns by beating Longford and Sligo respectively on Sunday.

The Orchard County were 3-11 to 3-9 victors away from home after enjoying a 2-7 to 1-4 lead at the interval.

CJ McGourty starred for the Saffrons as they ran out narrow 0-11 to 1-7 winners at Corrigan Park.

With the aid of the wind, Sligo led 1-5 to 0-6 at the break as Niall Murphy scored the only goal of the match.

Armagh had drawn with Sligo and lost to Laois in their opening two fixtures, with Antrim going down to Tipperary and Offaly.

"We came in behind at half-time but put in an excellent second-half performance," said Antrim joint-manager Gearoid Adams after the game.

"We set up really well after half-time and took the lead, but ended up levelling in injury-time and CJ McGourty knocked over a great point to win the game.

"We got a wee bit of luck with the wind favouring us in the second half but deservedly picked up the two points.

"This win will give everyone a massive lift, psychologically it is a massive boost. This is a tight division but we will fight for every point."

The match between Longford and Armagh at Pearse Park only took place after the surface passed a late inspection.

Jamie Clarke scored the opening goal for Armagh early in the first half, before Oisin O'Neill added another before the break.

Liam Conerton found the net for Longford and while Stefan Campbell grabbed Armagh's third shortly after the interval, Longford rallied with two goals of their own.

There was only a point between the sides as they entered injury-time, before a Rory Grugan free sealed the win for the visitors.



Division One

Donegal 2-05 1-8 Dublin

Kerry 1-10 2-08 Monaghan

Division Two

Cork 1-14 0-9 Fermanagh

Derry 1-18 1-17 Kildare

Galway 3-13 1-11 Clare

Division Three

Antrim 0-11 1-07 Sligo

Longford 3-09 3-11 Armagh

Offaly 0-14 2-13 Louth

Division Four

Wicklow 0-17 2-4 London

Wexford 1-9 0-10 Waterford

Westmeath 2-18 1-9 Leitrim


Division One

Mayo 1-19 0-14 Roscommon

Division Two

Down 1-13 0-14 Meath

Division Three

Laois 1-10 1-16 Tipperary

Division Four

Carlow 1-10 0-10 Limerick

Top Stories