Football League Division Three: Armagh suffer late heartbreak and Antrim well beaten

Armagh's Anthony Duffy in action against James Kelly and Kevin Meaney of Laois
Armagh's Anthony Duffy in action against James Kelly and Kevin Meaney of Laois

Armagh conceded three late points to go down 2-11 to 0-16 to Laois at the Athletic Grounds in Division Three.

The Orchard men led by four points after 50 minutes but let their lead slip as they had Mark Shields and Aidan Forker dismissed in the second half.

Laois had Paul Kingston sent-off in the latter stages for a second yellow card.

Matthew Fitzpatrick's second half goal proved a mere consolation as Antrim suffered a 0-23 to 1-7 trouncing at Offaly, their second defeat in a row.

Playing against a strong breeze, the Saffrons trailed 0-9 to 0-4 at the interval and they fell further behind in the second half, their deficit 13 points by the finish.

Antrim were forced to play the last 10 minutes with 14 men after having substitute Jack Hannigan black-carded.

Graham Guilfoyle (2), Fitzpatrick (2), Paddy McBride, Ryan Murray and CJ McGourty pointed for the Ulster county.

Armagh suffer late heartache

Niall Donoher scored a first half goal for Laois as they went in level at 1-4 to 0-7 against Armagh, the home side's points coming from Stefan Campbell (2), Oisin O'Neill (2), Rory Grugan, Forker and Stephen Sheridan.

Jamie Clarke and Niall Roland were among the scorers in the second half as Kieran McGeeney's side built up a four-point lead despite having Shields red-carded for a second yellow.

Donal Kingston's 57th-minute penalty brought Laois to within a point at 0-14 to 2-7 by the 57th minute and those three late points proved decisive for the visitors as Forker and Kingston were both sent-off.

The result will come as a further disappointment to Armagh as they let a six-point lead slip to draw with Sligo in their opening match of the campaign last week.

Antrim lost to Tipperary at Thurles in their first fixture last weekend.



Division One

Monaghan 0-7 0-7 Cavan

Roscommon 2-9 0-16 Donegal

Division Two

Clare 2-11 0-11 Down

Fermanagh 0-10 1-13 Galway

Kildare 1-14 2-8 Cork

Meath 3-15 0-9 Derry

Division Three

Louth 0-11 0-10 Longford

Offaly 0-23 1-7 Antrim

Tipperary 1-16 2-14 Sligo

Armagh 0-16 2-11 Laois

Division Four

Carlow 0-16 2-15 London

Limerick 0-12 1-18 Westmeath

Leitrim 0-14 0-16 Wexford


Division One

Dublin 0-10 1-7 Tyrone

Kerry 1-10 0-15 Mayo

Division Four

Waterford 1-17 1-9 Wicklow