Ulster Club Football final: Slaughtneil beat Kilcoo to make history

Niall Branagan of Kilcoo in action with Slaughtneil's Se McGuigan
Slaughtneil had won their first Ulster title in 2014

Slaughtneil beat Kilcoo 0-12 to 0-9 in Sunday's Ulster Club Football Championship final.

It means the Derry club have completed a remarkable treble of provincial football, hurling and camogie titles.

Slaughtneil saw off a determined second-half fight back by the Down champions to secure the Ulster crown for the second time in three years.

"There was pressure on us, and to get over the line is unbelievable," said dual star Chrissy McKaigue.

"It is hard to put it into words, it has been an unbelievable year.

"We knew we might not have this opportunity again, so we wanted to do it so badly.

"We have high standards and high expectations, and we knew Kilcoo would represent an incredible task."

Kilcoo manager Paul McIver said his players were devastated to have come so close to a first provincial crown.

"The boys have put in so much effort over the last five years, and to come within a kick of the ball to win the Ulster is hard for us.

"We were in a good position but those last five minutes before half-time were gut-wrenching and we found ourselves four points behind.

"But this club will be back - they deserve their Ulster Championship. We will be top of the pile at some stage."

Slaughtneil's first-half surge

The sides were locked on five points each in the first half, but the Derry champions landed points through Christopher Bradley, Chrissy McKaigue, Shane McGuigan and Cormac O'Doherty to be 0-9 to 0-5 up at the interval.

Kilcoo, Down winners for five years in a row, replied with three on the bounce by Ceilin Doherty, Daragh O'Hanlon and Martin Devlin to reduce the deficit to just one.

Mickey Moran's Slaughtneil, though, kept their noses in front to clinch a second provincial triumph in three years.

Slaughtneil players celebrate after winning the 2016 Ulster Club Football Championship
Slaughtneil players celebrate after winning the 2016 Ulster Club Football Championship
2016 Ulster Club Football Championship final: Slaughtneil 0-12 Kilcoo 0-9
Slaughtneil: A McMullan, F McEldowney, Rogers (0-2), K McKaigue, PMcNeill, C McKaigue (0-1), K Feeney, P Bradley, P Cassidy, Shane McGuigan (0-5), Paul Bradley (0-2), Meehaul McGrath, Christopher Bradley (0-1), Se McGuigan, Cormac O'Doherty (0-1)Subs: R Bradley for M McGrath (39), G Bradley for Se McGuigan (45), B Cassidy for C O'Doherty (57)
Kilcoo: N Kane, E Branagan, D O'Hanlon (0-2), N Branagan, Daryl Branagan (0-1), Aidan Branagan, Aaron Branagan, J McClean, JJ McLoughlin, Ceilum Doherty (0-03), Aaron Morgan, Ryan Johnston (0-01), Martin Devlin (0-01), Paul Devlin (0-01, 0-01f), Conor LavertySubs: Fhelim McGreevy for J McClean (black card 39), Donal Kane for JJ McLoughlin (45)

Media playback is not supported on this device

Slaughtneil grab chance to make Ulster GAA history

Top Stories