Tyrone and Donegal players in All-Stars list

Tyrone pair Cathal McCarron and Sean Cavanagh are in the running for 2016 All-Stars
Tyrone pair Cathal McCarron and Sean Cavanagh are in the running for 2016 All-Stars

Tyrone and Donegal provide all nine Ulster players selected in this year's Football All-Stars nominations.

Cathal McCarron, Colm Cavanagh, Mattie Donnelly, Sean Cavanagh, Peter Harte and Niall Sludden are the six Red Hands nominations for 2016.

Donegal have Paddy McGrath, Ryan McHugh and Patrick McBrearty on the list.

All-Ireland finalists Dublin and Mayo boast almost half of the 45 names with 11 each while surprise semi-finalists Tipperary have five.

Tyrone forward Sean Cavanagh has already won five Allstars while team-mate Donnelly made last year's top 15.

Dubs pair Brian Fenton and Ciaran Kilkenny will battle it out with Mayo's Lee Keegan for Footballer of the Year.

Mayo also have a chance of winning the Young Footballer award through Dairmuid O'Connor and he is up against Tipperary duo Jimmy Feehan and Josh Keane.

2016 All-Stars nominees

Goalkeepers: Evan Comerford (Tipperary), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), David Clarke (Mayo)

Defenders: Jonny Cooper (Dublin), Brendan Harrison (Mayo), Keith Higgins (Mayo), Cian O'Sullivan (Dublin), Lee Keegan (Mayo), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Philly McMahon (Dublin), Ryan McHugh (Donegal), Cathal McCarron (Tyrone), John Small (Dublin), Patrick Durcan (Mayo), Shane Enright (Kerry), Declan Kyne (Galway), James McCarthy (Dublin), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Paddy McGrath (Donegal), Robbie Kiely (Tipperary), Killian Young (Kerry)

Midfielders: Brian Fenton (Dublin), Peter Acheson (Tipperary), Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone), Gary Brennan (Clare), Paul Conroy (Galway), Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

Forwards: Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Dean Rock (Dublin), Kevin McManamon (Dublin), Paul Geaney (Kerry), Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary), Andy Moran (Mayo), Conor Sweeney (Tipperary), Aidan O'Shea (Mayo), Paul Murphy (Kerry), Cillian O'Connor (Mayo), Damien Comer (Galway), Diarmuid O'Connor (Mayo), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Danny Cummins (Galway), Patrick McBrearty (Donegal), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Top Stories