All-Ireland SFC: Donegal lose to 13-man Dublin in quarter-final tie

Paul Flynn is challenged by Anthony Thompson during the first half
Paul Flynn is challenged by Anthony Thompson during the first half
All-Ireland SFC quarter-final: Donegal 1-10 Dublin 1-15
Donegal scorers: M Murphy 0-6, A Thompson 0-1, P McBrearty 0-3, R McHugh 1-0
Dublin scorers: D Rock 0-5, P McMahon 0-1, C Kilkenny 0-1, K McManamon 0-3, D Connolly 0-2, P Andrews 0-1, J Cooper 0-1, P Mannion 1-1

Dublin saw off Donegal in their All-Ireland last-eight encounter at Croke Park, despite the holders having two men sent-off in the second half.

The Dubs looked to be coasting at 0-9 to 0-4 at half-time but Ryan McHugh palmed the ball into the net in the 43rd minute to give his side hope.

Diarmuid Connolly's red card was another setback for Dublin and Eoghan O'Gara was dismissed late in the game.

Paul Mannion's goal deep into injury-time ensured that his side progressed.

The Leinster champions will be taking part in the last four stage of the All-Ireland series for a seventh consecutive year.

Donegal aim to repeat shock semi-final win of 2014

Donegal started the game without Neil Gallagher, who is still trying to overcome a shoulder injury, as they set out to repeat their shock 3-14 to 0-17 semi-final triumph over the Dubs two years ago.

Since that game, the Ulster champions had won the three league meetings between the sides, including a comfortable 1-20 to 0-13 success in their Division One semi-final four months ago.

Dublin had named James McCarthy in their initial starting line-up, having missed the Leinster final win over Westmeath through injury, but it was announced soon before throw-in that Paddy Andrews would take his place in the side.

Dubs dominate first half

Paddy Andrews is tackled by Frank McGlyn and Odhran Mac Niallais
Paddy Andrews is tackled by Frank McGlyn and Odhran Mac Niallais

Dublin were quick out of the blocks as the impressive Connolly was denied a goal by Mark Anthony McGinley courtesy of a fine save after just 14 seconds.

Dean Rock and Philly McMahon pointed for the champions, before Michael Murphy opened Donegal's account in the 13th minute and then levelled with a 45 soon after.

Further scores from Rock (2), Ciaran Kilkenny, Kevin McManamon, Connolly (2) and Andrews put Jim Gavin's outfit in control as their opponents hit nine wides.

A Murphy free and an Anthony Thompson point added further first-half points for Donegal, but Rory Gallagher's men went in five points adrift at the break.

Champions survive despite two red cards

Points from McManamon and Rock on the resumption extended their side's advantage to seven points, before McBrearty replied for his first of the match.

The defeated Ulster finalists breathed life into the encounter on 43 minutes thanks to McHugh's goal, but Rock replied with his fifth score.

Connolly's dismissal for a second yellow card appeared to give Donegal further cause to be optimistic of mounting a comeback but they failed to make that extra man count to a sufficient extent as their opponents proved adept at keeping possession.

Murphy pointed, but McManamon kicked a score from an acute angle and Johnny Cooper landed his first point to ease his side's nerves.

McBrearty (2) and Murphy (2) added to their points tallies, but substitute Mannion gave the victors a four-point cushion, before O'Gara was given his marching orders for an alleged punching offence, which in the replays looked more like a slap.

Mannion scored the goal which made victory safe with a composed finish in the sixth minute of added time.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Donegal lost to Dublin in the All-Ireland quarter-final

What they said

Former Donegal player Brendan Devenney on BBC Radio Ulster: "Dublin were the better team throughout and despite losing two men always looked like they were the side in control. Donegal couldn't capitalise on the wee chinks they carved out.

"Some of the crowd booed as Dublin tried to keep possession but you can't fault them. They built up the lead they needed and had no need to go on the attack and play into Donegal's hands."

What's next?

In the semi-finals, Dublin take on Kerry on 28 August in a repeat of last year's All-Ireland final, with Mayo playing Tipperary in the opening last-four tie a week earlier.

How they lined up

Dublin: S Cluxton; P McMahon, J Cooper, D Byrne; P Andrews, C O'Sullivan, J Small; MD MaCauley, B Fenton; P Flynn, K McManamon, C Kilkenny; D Rock, D Connolly, B Brogan.

Donegal: M A McGinley, P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee, R McHugh, K Lacey, F McGlynn, R Kavanagh, O Mac Niallais, A Thompson, M McElhinney, E McHugh, P McBrearty, M Murphy, M O'Reilly.

Referee: Ciaran Branagan (Down)