Derry boss Brian McIver calls up 10 newcomers for McKenna Cup

Brian McIver will be without Eoin Bradley for the McKenna Cup campaign

Derry football manager Brian McIver has named 10 newcomers in his panel for next month's Dr McKenna Cup.

James Kearney (Swatragh), Peter Cassidy (Bellaghy) and Neil McNicholl (Glenullin) are included after helping St Pat's Maghera win the Hogan Cup.

Cassidy and Kearney made their debuts for the Derry seniors in the recent O Fiaich Cup tournament.

Other newcomers include Oisin Duffy (Foreglen), Aaron Kerrigan (Claudy) and Paudie McGuigan (Slaughtneil).

There are also first call-ups for Mickey McShane (Ballinascreen), Ciaran Conway (Ballinascreen), Anthony O'Neill (Loup) and Niall McFeeley (Foreglen).

As expected, Eoin Bradley will not play in the McKenna Cup because of his current soccer commitments with Coleraine while the McKaigue brothers Chrissy and Karl with join Cailean O'Boyle and Emmett Bradley in representing their universities in the competition.

Ballinderry's county players will miss the competition because of the upcoming All-Ireland Club series.

Derry will open their McKenna Cup campaign with a game against Monaghan at Clones on Sunday, 5 January.

Derry McKenna Cup squad: Thomas Mallon, Aidan McAlynn, Anthony O'Neill (Loup), Charlie Kielt, James Kielt (Kilrea), Oisin Duffy, Niall McFeely (Foreglen), Declan Brown, Fergal Doherty, Peter Cassidy (Bellaghy), Mark Lynch (Banagher), Mickey McShane, Benny Heron, Carlus McWilliams, Dermot McBride, Ciaran Conway (Ballinascreen), Conor McAtamney, James Kearney (Swatragh), Kevin Johnston, Mark Craig (Dungiven), Sean Leo Mc Goldrick, Niall Holly, Ciaran McGoldrick, Declan Mullan (Eoghan Rua), Patsy Bradley, Paudie McGuigan (Slaughtneil), Ciaran McFaul (Glen), Emmett McGuckin (Magherafelt), Enda Lynn (Greenlough), Eoin McNicholl, Gerard O'Kane, Neill McNicholl (Glenullin), Aaron Kerrigan (Claudy).