Best Fifa Awards: How to watch on BBC Sport - Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr on shortlists

Best Fifa shortlisted plyers

The winners of the Best Fifa Football Awards will be announced on Monday in a ceremony you can watch and follow live on the BBC Sport website.

Coverage from Zurich starts at 18:00 GMT, with Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah and Chelsea striker Sam Kerr among the player of the year nominees.

Salah is on the men's shortlist with Paris St-Germain's Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski.

Kerr has been nominated with Barcelona pair Jennifer Hermoso and Alexia Putellas in the women's category.

Salah, currently playing for Egypt at the Africa Cup of Nations, is the Premier League's top scorer this season with 16 goals, having finished second to Harry Kane last season.

He comes up against Argentine Messi, last year's Ballon d'Or winner, who has only won the Fifa men's award once since its inception, claiming the prize in 2016.

Poland's Lewandowski won the men's award in 2020 and went on to score 69 goals in 2021, but two-time winner Cristiano Ronaldo is not on the shortlist for the first time.

Australia forward Kerr finished as the Women's Super League's top scorer last season with 21 goals, as Chelsea retained the title and also reached the Champions League final.

Spanish pair Hermoso and Putellas were both part of Barcelona's all-conquering side in 2021, winning the domestic double as well as the Champions League. Putellas was also the women's Ballon d'Or winner.

Last year's Best Fifa women's player was England and Manchester City's Lucy Bronze.

The awards are voted for by international managers, captains of international teams, journalists and fans.

Tottenham's Erik Lamela is on the shortlist for the Fifa Puskas Award, which recognises the best goal in world football during the year, after his 'rabona' finish in the north London derby against Arsenal last March.

Best women's player

  • Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/Barcelona)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
  • Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)

Best men's player

  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona/Paris St-Germain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)

Best women's coach

  • Lluis Cortes (Spain/Barcelona)
  • Emma Hayes (England/Chelsea)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team/English national team)

Best men's coach

  • Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City)
  • Roberto Mancini (Italy/Italian national team)
  • Thomas Tuchel (Germany/Chelsea)

Best women's goalkeeper

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile/Paris Saint-Germain/Lyon)
  • Stephanie Labbe (Canada/FC Rosengard/Paris Saint-Germain)

Best men's goalkeeper

  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Edouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich)

Fifa Puskas Award

  • Erik Lamela - Tottenham (v Arsenal, 14 March)
  • Patrik Schick - Czech Republic (v Scotland, 14 June)
  • Mehdi Taremi - Porto (v Chelsea, 13 April)
Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC