National League - Play-off Semi-final
TorquayTorquay United4Notts CountyNotts County2

Torquay United 4-2 Notts County (AET): Hall & Moxey goals send Gulls to final

By James LawBBC Sport
Danny Wright scores his second goal for Torquay
Torquay's Danny Wright (left) scored his second goal of the game to put his side in front

Extra-time goals from Asa Hall and Dean Moxey saw Torquay United beat Notts County in a pulsating tie to reach the National League promotion final.

Danny Wright's deflected header put the Gulls ahead after 35 seconds but Ruben Rodrigues powered in a leveller.

The hosts led again when Wright calmly guided home before Adam Chicksen rifled in for the Magpies to make it 2-2.

However Torquay would not be denied as Hall's glancing header and Moxey's controversial penalty saw them through.

Gary Johnson's side will contest the final at Bristol City's Ashton Gate on 20 June against either Stockport or Hartlepool, who play their semi-final on Sunday.

Notts had chances to come back for a third time - Kyle Wootton's point-blank header was saved and Rodrigues' follow-up hit the underside of the bar - but they will a spend a third season out of the Football League.

A restricted crowd of 1,709 were treated to a play-off classic at a sun-kissed Plainmoor, with Wright marking his return from a two-month injury absence with a header that went in off visiting defender Chicksen, though there were suspicions of offside.

Chicksen later spectacularly scored his first goal since December 2016 when a corner fell to him, sending the tie to extra time.

After Gulls skipper Hall made it 3-2 the hosts were given a soft penalty when Connor Lemonheigh-Evans went down under a clean challenge from Mark Ellis, with veteran Moxey sending Sam Slocombe the wrong way.

Torquay - who finished second to champions Sutton in the regular season - will return to the EFL for the first time since 2013-14 with victory next weekend.



Formation 4-3-3

  • 33Covolan Cauagnari
  • 2Wynter
  • 4CameronSubstituted forAndrewsat 79'minutes
  • 8HallSubstituted forBuseat 105'minutes
  • 16Sherring
  • 31Lewis
  • 21Moxey
  • 10LittleSubstituted forWatersat 95'minutes
  • 12Randell
  • 9WrightSubstituted forMbunga-Kimpiokaat 90'minutes
  • 7Lemonheigh-Evans


  • 1MacDonald
  • 11Andrews
  • 15Buse
  • 25Waters
  • 28Mbunga-Kimpioka

Notts County

Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Slocombe
  • 2Brindley
  • 3EllisBooked at 105mins
  • 16Kelly-Evans
  • 4ReevesSubstituted forGriffithsat 105'minutes
  • 29MillerSubstituted forBarnettat 85'minutes
  • 23ChicksenSubstituted forRawlinsonat 105'minutes
  • 8Doyle
  • 9Wootton
  • 20Rodrigues
  • 11BoldewijnSubstituted forKnowlesat 73'minutes


  • 5Turner
  • 7Barnett
  • 13Rawlinson
  • 18Knowles
  • 28Griffiths
Andrew Kitchen

Live Text

  1. Post update

    Match ends, Torquay United 4, Notts County 2.

  2. Post update

    Second Half Extra Time ends, Torquay United 4, Notts County 2.

  3. Substitution

    Substitution, Notts County. Regan Griffiths replaces Jake Reeves.

  4. Post update

    Second Half Extra Time begins Torquay United 4, Notts County 2.

  5. Post update

    First Half Extra Time ends, Torquay United 4, Notts County 2.

  6. Post update

    Goal! Torquay United 4, Notts County 2. Dean Moxey (Torquay United) converts the penalty with a.

  7. Substitution

    Substitution, Torquay United. Matt Buse replaces Asa Hall.

  8. Booking

    Mark Ellis (Notts County) is shown the yellow card for a bad foul.

  9. Goal!

    Goal! Torquay United 3, Notts County 2. Asa Hall (Torquay United).

  10. Substitution

    Substitution, Torquay United. Billy Waters replaces Armani Little.

  11. Post update

    First Half Extra Time begins Torquay United 2, Notts County 2.

  12. Substitution

    Substitution, Notts County. Connell Rawlinson replaces Adam Chicksen.

  13. Substitution

    Substitution, Torquay United. Benjamin Mbunga-Kimpioka replaces Daniel Wright.

  14. Full Time

    Second Half ends, Torquay United 2, Notts County 2.

  15. Substitution

    Substitution, Notts County. Jordan Barnett replaces Calvin Miller.

  16. Substitution

    Substitution, Torquay United. Jake Andrews replaces Kyle Cameron.

  17. Substitution

    Substitution, Notts County. Jimmy Knowles replaces Enzio Boldewijn.

  18. Goal!

    Goal! Torquay United 2, Notts County 2. Adam Chicksen (Notts County).

  19. Goal!

    Goal! Torquay United 2, Notts County 1. Daniel Wright (Torquay United).

  20. Second Half

    Second Half begins Torquay United 1, Notts County 1.

As It Stood

1Sutton United42259872363684
5Notts County4220101262412170
11Solihull Moors421971658481064
12Dag & Red42179165348560
13Maidenhead United421511166260256
14Boreham Wood421316135248455
21King's Lynn42710255098-4831
View full National League table

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC