Welsh football pre-season guide 2019

Wing Daniel James starred for Swansea in the Championship last season but has joined Manchester United
Wing Daniel James starred for Swansea in the Championship last season but has joined Manchester United

Last season saw Cardiff City relegated after one season in the Premier League and Neil Warnock's side must now refocus on life in the Championship.

The Bluebirds will be in the division alongside near rivals Swansea City, who themselves are still adjusting after their relegation from the top flight in 2017-18 and have their sixth new permanent manager in three seasons.

For League Two Newport County and National League Wrexham last season was a case of near-misses, with both reaching the play-offs but ultimately missing out on promotion.

Preparations are already underway for the new campaign, so here is BBC Sport Wales' guide to the pre-season friendlies of the four Welsh clubs.

Sat, 29 June

Cefn Druids 0-4 Wrexham

Fri, 5 July

Taffs Well 1-5 Cardiff City

Fleetwood Town 1-0 Wrexham

Tue, 9 July

Portimonense SC 1-0 Wrexham

Thurs, 11 July

Al Ahly 1-1 Newport County

Sat, 13 July

Crawley Town 2-3 Swansea City

AFC Telford United 0-2 Wrexham

Sun, 14 July

San Antonio 0-1 Cardiff City

Tues, 16 July

Yeovil Town 1-6 Swansea City

Undy AFC 2-4 Newport County

Wed, 17 July

Shrewsbury Town 0-1 Newport County

Wrexham 1-3 Stoke

Fri, 19 July

Bath City 1-1 Newport County

New Mexico United 1-1 Cardiff City

Sat, 20 July

Exeter City 1-3 Swansea City

Curzon Ashton 0-2 Wrexham

Sun, 21 July

Real Valladolid v Cardiff City (Edmonton, Canada, 02:00 BST)

Mon, 22 July

Weston-super-Mare v Newport County (Optima Stadium, 19:00 BST)

Tue, 23 July

Bristol Rovers v Swansea City (Memorial Ground, 19:45 BST)

Wed, 24 July

Newport County v Chelsea U23s (Newport Stadium, 19:00 BST)

Sat, 27 July

Cardiff City v Nice (Cardiff City Stadium, 15:00 BST)

Swansea City v Atalanta (Liberty Stadium, 15:00 BST)

Wrexham v Crewe (Racecourse Ground, 15:00 BST)

*Fixtures and kick-off times subject to change

Top Stories