Scotland: David Bates, Ryan Jack, Scott McTominay & Scott Bain called up

David Bates has made 11 appearances this season for Hamburg
David Bates has made 11 appearances this season for Hamburg

Hamburg defender David Bates is one of four call-ups to the Scotland squad for the Nations League double-header with Albania and Israel.

Goalkeeper Scott Bain, and midfielders Ryan Jack and Scott McTominay have also been added to Alex McLeish's squad.

Craig Gordon joined the list of withdrawals after missing Celtic's 0-0 draw at Livingston.

Charlie Mulgrew, Kevin McDonald and Stephen O'Donnell had already dropped out with injuries.

Former Rangers defender Bates, 22, moved to the Bundesliga 2 in the summer and has never been involved in a senior international squad before.

Goalkeeper Gordon has not recovered with knee and hip problems sustained in Celtic's Thursday's Europa League win over RB Leipzig. His replacement Bain, who played in the Premiership draw with Livingston, earned his first Scotland cap in the summer friendly with Mexico.

Centre-half Mulgrew missed Blackburn Rovers' 1-1 draw with Rotherham United and Fulham midfielder McDonald was ruled out of Sunday's defeat with Liverpool with a hamstring injury.

Right-back O'Donnell, who made his debut in May and has now accumulated six caps, missed Kilmarnock's 1-0 win over Hearts on Saturday.

Kilmarnock goalkeeper Jamie MacDonald, an early replacement for Jon McLaughlin, will join Alex McLeish's squad despite also being absent from the win over the Scottish Premiership leaders.

Forwards Steven Naismith and Leigh Griffiths are sidelined by injuries, with Tom Cairney not selected as he returns from a lay-off.

Scotland trail Israel by three points in Nations League C, Group 1 going into their final two group fixtures.

They will travel to Albania on Saturday, 17 November before hosting Israel three days later.

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers: Scott Bain (Celtic), Jamie MacDonald (Kilmarnock), Allan McGregor (Rangers).

Defenders: Michael Devlin (Aberdeen), Scott McKenna (Aberdeen), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Graeme Shinnie (Aberdeen), Kieran Tierney (Celtic), David Bates (Hamburg).

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), James Forrest (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Bournemouth), Gary Mackay-Steven (Aberdeen), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Callum Paterson (Cardiff City), Ryan Jack (Rangers), Scott McTominay (Manchester United).

Forwards: Steven Fletcher (Sheffield Wednesday), Oliver McBurnie (Swansea City), Matt Phillips (West Bromwich Albion), Johnny Russell (Sporting Kansas City).

Top Stories