England World Cup squad: Gareth Southgate to name Russia 2018 players next week

Gareth Southgate and Raheem Sterling
Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling is expected to be named in Gareth Southgate's England squad

England manager Gareth Southgate will announce his 23-man squad for the World Cup in Russia on Wednesday, 16 May.

England start their Group G campaign against Tunisia on 18 June, before games against Panama on 24 June and Belgium on 28 June.

Southgate's side were unbeaten in winning their qualifying group, with eight wins and two draws.

They will play Nigeria on 2 June and Costa Rica on 7 June in home friendlies before leaving for Russia.

Southgate is unable to call up Liverpool pair Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Joe Gomez, who have been ruled out through injury.

Under Southgate's predecessor, Roy Hodgson, England were eliminated at the group stage of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil and lost to last-16 opponents Iceland at Euro 2016 in France.

Media playback is not supported on this device

Southgate will pick a 'progressive England squad' - Neville
England's key World Cup dates
16 MaySquad announced
2 Junev Nigeria (friendly)
7 JuneV Costa Rica (friendly)
12 JuneSquad leaves for Russia
18 Junev Tunisia (opening group game)
24 Junev Panama (second group game)
28 Junev Belgium (final group game)

Media playback is not supported on this device

Why can't England win the World Cup? - FA's technical director

Pick the XI you think should start for England at the World Cup and share it with your friends.

My England starting XI

Choose who you would pick in the England starting XI in Russia - and then share it with your friends using our team selector.

Top Stories