National League 2017-18 fixtures: Leyton Orient open at Sutton, Hartlepool host Dover

AFC Fylde
AFC Fylde scored 109 goals on their way to winning the National League North title

Leyton Orient will go to Sutton United for their first match of the 2017-18 National League season on 5 August.

Fellow relegated side Hartlepool United start their campaign at home to Dover.

National League North champions AFC Fylde host Boreham Wood, while Maidenhead, winners of National League South, will start away at Maidstone.

Ebbsfleet's fifth-tier return begins at Guiseley, while fellow promoted side FC Halifax Town host Aldershot in their first fixture.

Halifax were relegated from the division as recently as 2016, while Ebbsfleet ended their four-season absence from the fifth tier by winning the National League South play-offs.

Both Hartlepool and managerless Orient, who are looking for their 12th boss since July 2014, have new owners in place as they look to regroup after dropping out of the English Football League.

The O's, who had been in the EFL since 1905 before being relegated, have had a winding-up petition dismissed and appointed their former boss Martin Ling as director of football at the end of last season.

Both Fylde and Maidenhead will compete in the National League for the first time in their history, with Fylde operating as an amateur club as recently as a decade ago under the name Kirkham & Wesham.

Opening-day fixtures

Saturday, 5 August

Kick-off 15:00 BST unless stated

  • AFC Fylde v Boreham Wood
  • Bromley v Eastleigh
  • Dagenham & Redbridge v Barrow
  • FC Halifax Town v Aldershot Town
  • Guiseley v Ebbsfleet United
  • Hartlepool United v Dover Athletic
  • Maidstone United v Maidenhead United
  • Solihull Moors v Chester
  • Sutton United v Leyton Orient (12:30 BST)
  • Torquay United v Tranmere Rovers
  • Woking v Gateshead
  • Wrexham v Macclesfield Town

Top Stories